Hear extracts from director's second album
michael baggs
14:17 5th June 2013

Legendary director and musician David Lynch has today premiered an album trailer for his upcoming second release, The Big Dream. Watch it below.

The video shows Lynch in the studio working on tracks for the new album, plus clips of tracks from the new album, which promises to be a moody, downbeat affair.

"I'm very interested in sound, and music," says Lynch in the video, taken from vintage interview clips with the Twin Peaks icon. "Music is really thrilling."

Discussing the album, Lynch says: "Most of the songs start out as a type of blues jam and then we go sideways from there. What comes out is a hybrid, modernized form of low-down blues.

"The Blues is an honest and emotional form of music that is thrilling to the soul. I keep coming back to it, because it feels so good."

Watch the album trailer below

The album also includes a collaboration with Lykke Li.

Speaking of his admiration for the Swedish singer and her work on 'I'm Waiting Here', he added: "She brought her own style to this song, which has a doo-wop sort of thing going on, but in a way it’s far-removed from the ’50s."

Listen to 'I'm Waiting Here' below

The full tracklisting for The Big Dream is as follows. It hits shelves on 15 July, 2013.

1. 'The Big Dream'
2. 'Star Dream Girl'
3. 'Last Call'
4. 'Cold Wind Blowin'
5. 'The Ballad of Hollis Brown'
6. 'Wishin’ Well'
7. 'Say It'
8. 'We Rolled Together'
9. 'Sun Can’t Be Seen No More'
10. 'I Want You'
11. 'The Line It Curves'
12. 'Are You Sure'
**'I’m Waiting Here' with Lykke Li – Exclusive Bonus Track

Below - albums to get excited about this summer