'Prisoners' joins the astonishing 'Carousels' on a ten-track album
Jessie Atkinson
17:00 9th July 2020

More about:

Doves have followed up the truly sublime, Tony Allen-sampling single 'Carousels' - their first new music in eleven years - with another single, and the announcement that album number five is on the way. 'Prisoners' is the first single from The Universal Want.

Like 'Carousels', the new cut seems to exist in the dreamspace between waking and sleeping: production is emotive and cavernous; buzzing with promise.

'Prisoners' marks another of Doves' most impressive work to date. Frontman Jez Williams' powerful, maudlin voice tears through a cityscape of kinetic guitars and galloping, Northern Soul drums.

Hear it:

'Prisoners' appears at the centre of The Universal Want which features 'Carousels' as the opener to ten tracks.

Of the new single, Andy Williams notes: “It’s about continually chasing something and not being satisfied when you eventually get it. You’ve got ‘that thing’ and you find you’re not any happier. Be careful what you wish for.”

On the album, Jez Williams adds: “It’s definitely got the stamp of ‘the time’ all over it. Everything on the album is an echo. It’s an echo of what we were going through at the time. Getting back together, the Royal Albert Hall and everything else.”

The Universal Want Tracklist:

1. Carousels
2. I Will Not Hide
3. Broken Eyes
4. For Tomorrow
5. Cathedrals Of The Mind
6. Prisoners
7. Cycle Of Hurt
8. Mother Silver Lake
9. Universal Want
10. Forest House

The Universal Want arrives 11 September via Virgin EMI

More about:

Photo: Press