An electro-industrial interpretation
Jessie Atkinson
10:00 31st July 2020

The latest piece of the puzzle that is an all-star Marc Bolan tribute compilation has fallen into place today with a cover of 'Solid Gold, Easy Action' by Peaches. She's one of several huge stars interpreting their favourite T.Rex tracks.

Where the original 'Solid Gold, Easy Action' blistered with rock'n'roll energy in fits and starts, Peaches' version takes on an electronic, industrial persona with stuttering glitches and blunt drumming courtesy of Siouxsie drummer Budgie. 

It's a delicious electro-punk edition of a Marc Bolan special:

Produced by Hal Wilner, who died of Covid-19 in April, the opportunity to appear is a special one for Peaches. "He came to Berlin and set me up with Budgie (Siouxsie and the Banshees) and Knox Chandler...I’m grateful to have had this time with Hal and that’s mainly why this track means so much to me" she said.

It follows Joan Jett's cover of 'Jeepster' earlier this month. Other contributors include Devendra Banhart, Nena, Kesha, Lucinda Williams, Sean Lennon, Father John Misty and Todd Rundgren.

AngelHeaded Hipster: The Songs Of Marc Bolan and T.Rex tracklist: 

1. Children Of The Revolution - Kesha
2. Cosmic Dancer - Nick Cave
3. Jeepster - Joan Jett
4. Scenescof - Devendra Banhart
5. Life’s A Gas - Lucinda Williams
6. Solid Gold, Easy Action - Peaches
7. Dawn Storm - Børns
8. Hippy Gumbo - Beth Orton
9. I Love To Boogie - King Khan
10. Beltane Walk - Gaby Moreno
11. Bang A Gong (Get It On) - U2 feat. Elton John
12. Diamond Meadows - John Cameron Mitchell
13. Ballrooms Of Mars - Emily Haines
14. Main Man - Father John Misty
15. Rock On - Perry Farrell
16. The Street and Babe Shadow - Elysian Fields
17. The Leopards - Gavin Friday
18. Metal Guru - Nena
19. Teenage Dream - Marc Almond
20. Organ Blues - Helga Davis
21. Planet Queen - Todd Rundgren
22. Great Horse - Jessie Harris
23. Mambo Sun - Sean Lennon and Charlotte Kemp Muhl
24. Pilgrim’s Tale - Victoria Williams with Julian Lennon
25. Bang A Gong (Get It On) Reprise - David Johansen
26. She Was Born To Be My Unicorn / Ride A White Swan - Maria McKee & Gavin Friday

AngelHeaded Hipster: The Songs Of Marc Bolan and T.Rex arrives 4 September via BMG.

Photo: Jennifer Endom