The full Blue Note Re:imagined tracklist is here too
Jessie Atkinson
11:23 31st July 2020

More about:

Excellence abounds anew today with a special Steam Down interpretation of Wayne Shorter's 1965 release 'Etcetera'. Afronaut Zu features on the unique cover which is the fifth taste of a forthcoming Blue Note tribute compilation, the full tracklist of which is out today. 

It started as the etheral 1965 saxophone piece that made the title track of that year's Etcetera album, and in Steam Down's hands, the Wayne Shorter classic has taken on a brand new life. 

Bursting with the luscious leaves of infinite inspiration, the Steam Down treatment of 'Etcetera' is a jungle of jazz, afro-beat and so, so much more. Give it a listen:

The collective, which burst onto the scene in 2017 and released their first official cut last winter, were honoured to be included on the sixteen-track compilation. “Wayne Shorter has long been my favourite saxophonist and composer in jazz. Reworking Etcetera from his legendary Blue Note catalogue is a childhood dream come true," Ahnansé said.

The track follows Skinny Pelembe's 'Illusion', Jorja Smith's cover of 'Rose Rouge', Ezra Collective's own Wayne Shorter interpretation and Poppy Adjudha's recent cover of Herbie Hancock's 'Watermelon Man'.

Blue Note Re:imagined Tracklist

1. Jorja Smith - Rose Rouge
2. Ezra Collective - Footprints
3. Poppy Ajudha - Watermelon Man (Under The Sun)
4. Jordan Rakei - Wind Parade
5. Skinny Pelembe - Illusion (Silly Apparition)
6. Alfa Mist - Galaxy
7. Ishmael Ensemble - Search for Peace
8. Nubya Garcia - A Shade of Jade
9. Steam Down feat Afronaut Zu - Etcetera
10. Blue Lab Beats - Montara
11. Yazmin Lacey - I’ll Never Stop Loving You
12. Fieh - Armageddon
13. Mr Jukes - Maiden Voyage
14. Shabaka Hutchings - Prints Tie
15. Melt Yourself Down - Caribbean Fire Dance
16. Emma-Jean Thackray - Speak No Evil / Night Dreamer

Blue Note Re:imagined arrives 25 September via Blue Note/Decca.

More about:

Photo: Press