Mike Scott's newest project arrives in August
Jessie Atkinson
10:41 15th July 2020

More about:

The Waterboys are previewing their forthcoming album Good Luck, Seeker today with a brand new cut titled 'The Soul Singer'. The album will be the third in a triptych that includes Modern Blues and Out Of All This Blue.

Big boy horns and gameshow guitars bolster this infectious pop'n'roll track with the same colourful joy as the psychedelic video it comes with. The song premiered on the Radio 2 Breakfast Show this morning and we can't think of a cut that's more suited to the station.

Dublin singer Jess Kav fills the song out even more, making it a real bluesy pop delight.

The song will open the fourteen-track Good Luck, Seeker, an album which reportedly takes it inspiration from The Stones, Kate Bush and Mike Scott's own discography.

The single follows last month's 'My Wanderings In The Weary Land'.

Good Luck, Seeker Tracklist:

01. The Soul Singer
02. You’ve Got To Kiss A Frog Or Two
03. Low Down In The Broom
04. Dennis Hopper
05. Freak Street
06. Sticky Fingers
07. Why Should I Love You
08. The Golden Work
09. My Wanderings In The Weary Land
10. Postcard From The Celtic Dreamtime
11. Good Luck, Seeker
12. Beauty In Repetition
13. Everchanging
14. The Land Of Sunset

Good Luck, Seeker arrives 21 August via Cooking Vinyl.

More about:

Photo: Barry McCall