Turn the volume up real loud
Jessie Atkinson
15:46 5th August 2020

More about:

Songhoy Blues have confirmed their new album Optimisme is incoming. The third album from the Malian quartet, its grand opening track gets its release today: 'Badala' is a big, ballsy rock'n'roll song to introduce a new era for the band. 

Thrashing drums and beefy guitars run up and down a sweat-drenched track that's all about going your own damn way. Badala translates to 'I don't give a fuck' and the band have particularly honed in on young Mali women "pushing back against the patriarchy" for their inspiration.

"I want nothing to do with you anymore" they sing in Songhai: 

Like the accompanying lyric video, Optimisme will be a multilingual affair running across eleven tracks: previously released anthem 'Worry' will also appear on the record.

On 'Badala', the band's Aliou said: "We wanted to make a rock club crowd get involved with Songhoy Blues..." 

Optimisme Tracklist:

1.  Badala
2.   Assadja
3.   Fey Fey
4.   Gabi
5.   Barre
6.   Pour Toi
7.   Bon Bon
8.   Worry
9.   Korfo
10. Dournia
11. Kouma

Optimisme arrives 23 October via Transgressive.

More about:

Photo: Press