Jessie Atkinson
15:26 14th July 2020

More about:

Another member of Arcade Fire has announced his second solo album. Today it's the turn of Will Butler, who shares news that Generations is landing in September. He celebrates the announcement with a saccharine new single called 'Surrender'.

Butler has gone all Hall & Oates on the new single, which is a blue-eyed soulful knees up charged with saccharine backing vocals and loose guitar strumming. Add in some hand claps and you've got a recipe for a song guaranteed a spot in all the Be Happy compilation CDs.

The accompanying video is pretty hyper-jolly too:

“'Surrender' is masquerading as a love song, but it’s more about friendship. About the confusion that comes as people change" Butler said of the song.

It's the first taste of a ten-track record titled Generations, out in September. The LP was recorded and produced by Butler in the basement of his home in Brooklyn. 

Generations Tracklist:

01. Outta Here
02. Bethlehem
03. Close My Eyes
04. I Don't Know What I Don't Know
05. Surrender
06. Hide It Away
07. Hard Times
08. Promised
09. Not Gonna Die
10. Fine

Generations arrives 25 September via Merge Records.

More about:

Photo: Press