Listen to new track 'Deliverance' here
Julian Marszalek
08:38 19th April 2017

The one-year anniversary of the untimely passing of Prince is to be marked with the release of a six-song EP of previously unreleased material. Entitled ‘Deliverance’, the new collection will be released on Friday (April 21).

The EP is made up of undiscovered studio recordings which are understood to have been between 2006 – 2008 and are being released by the Rogue Music Alliance.

‘Deliverance’ will come out as a digital release with a physical copy following on June 2. The songs were co-produced by Prince and Ian Boxhill. Included in the EP is a four-movement medley of ‘I Am’, ‘Touch Me’, ‘Sunrise Sunset’ and ‘No One Else’.

A press release describes the EP thus: “The songs were written and recorded when Prince was an independent artist, protesting what he saw as an unjust music industry.

“In the spirit of that independence, and in supporting Prince’s opinion of major label contracts, ‘Deliverance’ is being released independently via RMA, a Vancouver, WA-based record company. The majority of all sales of ‘Deliverance’ will benefit Prince’s estate.”

An enthusiastic Ian Boxhill said: “I believe ‘Deliverance’ is a timely release with everything going on in the world today, and in light of the one-year anniversary of his passing.

“I hope when people hear Prince singing these songs it will bring comfort to many… Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public. When considering how to release this important work, we decided to go independent because that’s what Prince would have wanted.”

You can listen to ‘Deliverance’ here: