Re-Animator was recorded in December and lands in August
Jessie Atkinson
10:30 14th May 2020

Everything Everything are back. They signalled the countdown to album number five last night with a bittersweet new electronic art rock treat 'Arch Enemy'. Debuting as Annie Mac's Hottest Record in the World, it's a strong start for the quartet, whose new LP is titled Re-Animator.

Recent single 'In Birdsong' will also form part of the eleven-track new long play. While that cut sings with quiet, synth-built balladry, 'Arch Enemy' is altogether more angry. Bristling with prickly electronics, the new single is busy with a chorus of instruments that interject, cajole and chime.

In contrast, desperate lyrics scrabble for meaning in a meaningless world. Big time artistry. Hear it:

On the lead single, songwriter Jonathan Higgs said: “This idea of the divided self captivated me. Jaynes attributes this to the origin of gods, people ascribing deity status to this voice they could hear in their head...So across the whole record there are millions or references to this theory – to having a split brain, two selves, hearing voices.”

Re-Animator was recorded at RAK studios in December with St. Vincent collaborator John Congleton. 

Re-Animator Track List:

1. Lost Powers
2. Big Climb
3. It Was A Monstering
4. Planets
5. Moonlight
6. Arch Enemy
7. Lord Of The Trapdoor
8. Black Hyena
9. In Birdsong
10. The Actor
11. Violent Sun

Re-Animator arrives 21 August via Infinity industries

Photo: Press