Fuck the fishbowl
Jessie Atkinson
09:58 12th August 2020

More about:

IDLES continue the campaign for their third album Ultra Mono. 'Model Village' is the third single taken from the forthcoming LP and arrives this evening with a charming video.

All anxious, driving guitars and the gutteral yelp of Joe Talbot, the single is pure IDLES - and yet, there's something of a new devotion to lightness in its vocal playfulness and repetition. 

The adjoining video is great: a painstaking project created by Michel and Olivier Gondry:

Joe Talbot said of the song's themes: “I hated growing up in a city that was really a town that was really a fishbowl. I left as soon as I could, only to realize the fishbowl didn't exist...just the fish, and they're everywhere.”

Fans can bag a ticket to three live performances to be streamed from an unnamed iconic studio...see those dates below:

29 - 9pm BST
29 - 11.45pm BST
30 - 12pm BST

Ultra Mono Tracklist:

1. War
2. Grounds
3. Mr. Motivator
4. Anxiety
5. Kill Them With Kindness
6. Model Village
7. Ne Touche Pas Moi (feat. Jehnny Beth)
8. Carcinogenic
9. Reigns
10. The Lover
11. A Hymn
12. Danke

Ultra Mono arrives 25 September via Partisan.

More about:

Photo: Tom Ham