The second slice of Free Love
Jessie Atkinson
12:47 11th August 2020

More about:

Sylvan Esso are downbeat on their latest single 'Rooftop Dancing'. It's the second single to be taken from the duo's forthcoming album Free Love.

Murmuring and gentle, the sparse indie treat evokes images of being alone and at peace in a big city. "Concrete, concrete shining everywhere" Amelia Meath sings over gentle shakers and drum samples.

The attached video, shot by filmmaker Cheryl Dunn is a twighlit portrait of New York City:

“Rooftop Dancing is about the excitement of being part of a collective humming whole - a city that contains multitudes - with your small story shining softly amidst it" the band said. 

It follows the upbeat lead single 'Ferris Wheel', which premiered at the end of July, announcing Free Love, the duo's new album.

Free Love Tracklist:

1. What If
2. Ring
3. Ferris Wheel
4. Train
5. Numb
6. Free
7. Frequency
8. Runaway
9. Rooftop Dancing
10. Make It Easy

Free Love arrives 25 September via Loma Vista Recordings.

More about:

Photo: Press