The singer collaborates with Look Mum No Computer on the jam-packed track
Alex Rigotti
22:13 12th August 2019

More about:

Chants and punchy guitar riffs swirl around in the new Barns Courtney single ‘Hollow’, as he unveils another part of the puzzle of upcoming second album 404.

Benefitting from his rich vocal, desperation rings out through the new track. That same energy is reflected in the medical drama of the accompanying video, in which Courtney frenziedly soldiers against pills and operations. With help from Sam Battle (better known as Look Mum No Computer) and directors Math and Fran to produce the “tropical bedroom jam,” Courtney has created an aural internal battle. See the video below:

404, out on 6 September, will be exploration of the transition into adulthood, one that is reflected in the interplay of gritty distorted guitars and gentle melodies. 

The vocals for ‘Hollow’ were recorded in one take, and most are improvised. This stream-of-consciousness production is a surefire way for Courtney to let listeners into a vulnerable, raw and honest body of work.

404 Tracklisting:
1. Hollow
2. You & I
3. 1999
4. London Girls
5. Fun Never Ends
6. Boy Like Me
7. The Kids Are Alright
8. Castaway
9. Babylon
10. Cannonball

Catch Barns on tour throughout the UK in October at the following dates:

08 - Manchester, Manchester Academy
09 - Leeds, The Wardrobe
10 - Bristol, Trinity Centre
12 - Brighton, Concorde 2
13 - Portsmouth, Wedgewood Rooms
14 - Bournemouth, The Old Fire Station 
16 - Birmingham, O2 Institute
17 - Newcastle Upon Tyne, Riverside Newcastle 
18 - Glasgow, The Garage
20 - Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
21 - Cambridge, Cambridge Junction
22 - Oxford, O2 Academy 
23 - London, Electric Ballroom

More about:

Photo: Press