The second cut from comeback album Damage And Joy
Tom Skinner

12:45 10th February 2017

The Jesus and Mary Chain have released the second slice of new music from their long-awaited new record Damage And Joy. Stream the new cut 'Always Sad' below.

The track is a 60s infused reflective rock number, which sees Jim Reid wallow in self pity over a long lost love. Bernadette Denning provides guest vocals, which complement Reid's nonchalant and hazed delivery. 

The Jesus and Mary Chain announced their new record Damage And Joy - the first since 1998's Munki - back in December last year, with the release of lead single 'Amputation'. The track deals with the band's long break and the feeling of "being edited out of the whole music business." Jim Reid said he "felt like a rock ‘n’ roll amputation.”

Recording for the new album began September 2015 and it's been worked on with producer Youth, who also has just finished a record with Shaun Ryder's Black Grape.

The band previously reunited in 2007, though disputes between the Reid brothers hindered recording of the new material. 

The Jesus and Mary Chain have released six studio albums to date, with their biggest hits including 'April Skies' 'Happy When It Rains' and 'Like Honey'.

The full tracklist for Damage And Joy is as follows:
1. Amputation
2. War On Peace
3. All Things Pass
4. Always Sad
5. Song For A Secret
6. The Two Of Us
7. Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)
8. Mood Rider
9. Presidici (Et Chapaquiditch)
10. Get On Home
11. Facing Up To The Facts
12. Simian Split
13. Black And Blues
14. Can’t Stop The Rock


Photo: Press