Yes keyboardist say he will not be at the 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame event
PJ Thorne
07:04 3rd January 2017

Former Yes keyboardist Rick Wakeman has spoke out on the band's upcoming induction into the 2017 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame and revealed that "under no circumstances" would be taking part in the ceremony.

Wakeman and several members of the pioneering progressive rock group, including Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford, Steve Howe, Trevor Rabin, Alan White, Tony Kaye and the late Chris Squire will be honoured at an April ceremony in New York alongside Pearl Jam, Journey, Electric Light Orchestra, Joan Baez and Tupac Shakur.

Asked if he was pleased at the Rock Hall news, Wakeman said via his website: "Well I would have been if it had happened years ago when it was really well deserved. I find it hard to come to terms with the fact that so many bands are inducted into the Hall of Fame too late in their careers after key members have passed away. Classic examples are The Who and John Entwistle, Deep Purple and Jon Lord and now Yes and there will be no Chris Squire."

Regarding his plans for the event, Wakeman adds, "I have no idea if there will be any sort of reunion, but whatever happens under no circumstances will I be any part of it, neither will I be attending."

Wakeman joined Yes in 1971 for their fourth album, "Fragile", and served several short stints in the line-up before his final exit in 2004.

Yes were formed in London in in 1968 by Jon Anderson and Chris Squire. The band have seen many changes in their members and started out as a group who covered rock, pop, blues and jazz songs.

It was their change of direction into the world of progressive rock and art-rock that saw them make their mark.

The band have won many awards, topped music charts and now are set to receive the highest accolade as they get an induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Rick Wakeman is the one member of the band who springs to mind when you mention the trailblazing group, it is a shame that he will miss out on being there to celebrate their hard work and determination in the world of music.

More about:

Photo: Press