'You' introduces Backhand Deals
Jessie Atkinson
10:22 23rd September 2021

Welsh rockers Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard have announced their debut album. It's titled Backhand Deals and will arrive in February on Communion Records. 'You' is out now.

'You' capitalises on frontman Tom Rees' knack with '60s and '70s melodies and guitar lines: the single is a big, glorious mash-up of Queen and Marc Bolan-style sounds.

On the album—and rock as a whole—Tom said: “Backhand Deals is a practise in subverting the ideology of rock music as something that needs to be ‘brought back from the dead’. Rock should be about enjoying yourself honestly, whether that's washing the dishes, sweeping the yard, or complaining about whoever got elected. Rock is a sweeping power, and is attributed to anyone who performs art honestly, from Lizzo feeling good as hell to AC/DC riding down a highway to hell. The honesty is the same, and the honesty prevails."

Backhand Deals Tracklist:

1. New Age Millennial Magic
2. Good Day
3. Crescent Man vs Demolition Dan
4. Faking A Living
5. Yourself
6. Break Right In
7. On The Kill Again
8. You
9. Feel The Change!
10. Demolition Song
11. A Passionate Life

Backhand Deals arrives 25 February via Communion.

Photo: Lily Brown