Hear the cinematic new piece of Faith now
Jessie Atkinson
12:51 16th July 2020

More about:

Hurts have shared a further slice of their forthcoming album Faith. 'Redemption' is the third single from the duo's fifth studio album, one of eleven tracks on the album which arrives in September.

'Redemption' is a tear-jerking slow burner that grew from an emotional instrumental penned by Adam Anderson on Christmas Day. Massive and cinematic, the piano ballad builds to an otherworldy crescendo of orchestral might.

In Theo Hutchcraft's voice: the stylish intonation of Dave Gahan alongside some true pain spun into breathtaking beauty:

"It’s a song about fear and doubt. It emerged as a beautiful moment of clarity during one of the most troubled periods of making the album," Hutchcraft said in a press note.

Faith will be the duo's first album since 2017's Desire, an album whose tour nearly broke the band down to breaking point: “I was physically and mentally absolutely exhausted,” multi-instrumentalist Anderson says, "I couldn’t think, I couldn’t focus, or anything. And I didn’t know what the future held really. I didn’t know if we’d make another album again.”

Faith Tracklist:

01. Voices
02. Suffer
03. Fractured
04. Slave To Your Love
05. All I Have To Give
06. Liar
07. Somebody
08. Numb
09. Redemption
10. White Horses
11. Darkest Hour

Faith arrives 4 September via Lento Records

More about:

Photo: Press