It's Massive Attack meets Depeche Mode on latest single 'Suffer'
Jessie Atkinson
12:26 24th June 2020

More about:

Hurts have confirmed their fifth studio album. Faith will arrive in September, boasting scorching comeback tune 'Voices' as its opener, and brand new single 'Suffer' as its follow-up.

Introverted and pained, 'Suffer' sounds like the electro-pop representation of feeling emotional agony. Anxious synths and squelching sound bytes make for a barbed, sensitive soundtrack that perfectly complements the expansive, emotional lament of vocalist Theo Hutchcraft.

Bursting from a two-year period of creative stagnation, Hurts return with a sound that has sonic links to Depeche Mode. It's easy to imagine this one pealing out to the back row of the Waldbühne:

Faith will be the duo's first album since 2017's Desire, an album whose tour nearly broke the band down to breaking point: “I was physically and mentally absolutely exhausted,” multi-instrumentalist Adam Anderson says, "I couldn’t think, I couldn’t focus, or anything. And I didn’t know what the future held really. I didn’t know if we’d make another album again.”

Thankfully, they have. Faith will arrive in September.

Faith Track List:

1. Voices
2. Suffer
3. Fractured
4. Slave To Your Love
5. All I Have To Give
6. Liar
7. Somebody
8. Numb
9. Redemption
10. White Horses
11. Darkest Hour

Faith arrives 4 September via Lento Records

More about:

Photo: Press