A rock band triumphing in revelling in the absurd and unconventional
Cai Trefor
16:00 18th April 2019

Here's a great act from the Dutch underground for you to listen to today: The Sweet Release of Death have exclusively shared the astounding first release from their forthcoming album The Blissful Joy Of Living with Gigwise readers.

Titled ‘Sway’, it carries on from where the belligerently shreddy noise artists left off on the most high-octane parts their self-titled 2016 album: the three-piece continue their masterful ability to usurp convention and make unique, transcendental sounds that would make Sonic Youth proud – a wild imagination, love of feedback and tireless physicality key to this – on their trusty guitar/bass/drum set up. Yet, they’ve somehow managed to make the beat a lot more catchy and rabble-rousing than before, making the chance of multiple circle pits flaring up at their next gig very likely.

And in true Sweet Release of Death style, the vocals to sit above the mix without relying on over performing. There’s a charming, tuneful nonchalance to the sinister, disenfranchised mood.

The forthcoming album it's taken from is out on 4 October via Subroutine Records, who've been a beacon of light so far this year with another release: the track we premiered by their act Steve French gets perennial spins on the Gigwise stereo.

The prospect of seeing The Sweet Release of Death ahead of the release of their second album ought not to be missed.

Tour dates:


24 - HAMBURG [de] | Die Schute
25 - WROCŁAW [pl] | Czuła jest noc
26 - BREZNO [sk] | Bombura NKP
27 - BRATISLAVA [sk] | Nová Cvernovka/Sharpe Festival

The Sweet Release of Death are:
Alicia Bretón Ferrer (vocals/bass)
Martijn Tevel (guitars/effects)
Sven Engelsman (drums)

Discover more about the band:

Photo: Michèle van Vliet