They have also announced their first album since 2015
Elli Chappelhow

15:46 18th April 2019

Today, The Hollywood Vampires have released their first single from their highly anticipated new album, in the form of catchy tune ‘Who’s Laughing Now’ produced by Tommy Henriksen. The Hollywood Vampires, consisting of Joe Perry, Hollywood superstar Johnny Depp and shock rock icon Alice Cooper join forces once again for an album that will go straight into any rock and roll fan’s collection -  Rise will be released on 21 June via earMusic. 

Unlike their 2015 debut record, the new album Rise consists mainly of original material. However staying true to previous form, the band have included three covers, and there seems to be a theme with the tracks they’ve picked. They have chosen to cover songs written by fellow rock stars who died young: Johnny Thunder’s ‘You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory’, sung by Joe Perry, Jonny Depp performs an intimate and intense rendition of David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’, and they also cover the late Jim Carroll Band’s ‘People Who Died’.

Speaking about the new album, Alice Cooper comments: “Rise is not only a totally different animal than the first Vampires album, it is unique to anything I’ve ever been a part of.  I approached it very differently than I usually do when working on an album.  Each of us; Joe, Johnny, Tommy and myself have written songs on this album.  What is different though is that I didn’t try to change any songs to be more ‘Alice-like’.  Because each of us has different influences, the sound of this album is very cool.  I think that with this album, we are establishing what the Vampires’ sound really is, whereas with the first album we were more tipping our hats to our fallen rock n roll brothers.”

The tracklist for Rise is as follows:

1. I Want My Now
2. Good People Are Hard To Find
3. Who's Laughing Now
4. How The Glass Fell
5. The Boogieman Surprise
6. Welcome To Bushwackers (feat. Jeff Beck & John Waters)
7. The Wrong Bandage
8. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
9. Git From Round Me
10. Heroes
11. A Pitiful Beauty
12. New Threat
13. Mr. Spider
14. We Gotta Rise
15. People Who Died

Rise is released on 21 June 2019 via earMUSIC. 

Photo: Ross Halfin/Press