40th Anniversary re-release to include unreleased archival live recordings
Lee Zimmerman

10:15 12th October 2017

More about:

The Eagles are spreading their wings and preparing to soar yet again. The American rock band’s monstrously successful album Hotel California is getting a 40th anniversary deluxe reissue treatment just in time for the holidays.

Originally released in December 1976, Hotel California became a commercial juggernaut, selling more than 32 million copies worldwide, topping the Billboard charts for eight weeks, and picking up Grammy Awards for Record of the Year and Best Arrangement for Voices along the way.

It also spawned two hit singles in the title track, 'New Kid in Town' and 'Life in the Fast Lane', with the first two climbing to the top of the Billboard charts. After 40 years, the album is still considered a musical milestone, earning the distinction of being identified by critics as one of the greatest albums of all time.

In celebration of those achievements, Hotel California: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition will see an official release on 24 November. The new three-disc set will include the original album in remastered form, accompanied by ten previously unreleased live recordings. The music will be spread across two CDs and one Blu-ray and housed in a hardbound book that includes an 11” x 22” poster, rare, unseen photos, and a replica tour book.

The newly released concert tracks were taped a month prior to the album’s initial release, and feature one of the first live performances of two Billboard #1 singles – 'New Kid in Town' and 'Hotel California', along with earlier Eagles classics 'Already Gone', 'Take It To the Limit' and 'Witchy Woman'.

The announcement comes on the heels of the band’s triumphant return to the series of Classic East/West festivals, and more dates expected this autumn. The band will be joined by country icon Vince Gill, as well as the progeny of Eagles founder Deacon Frey.

The track listing for the ‘Hotel California:40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition is as follows:

Disc One: Original Album
1. 'Hotel California'
2. 'New Kid In Town'
3. 'Life In The Fast Lane'
4. 'Wasted Time'
5. 'Wasted Time (Reprise)'
6. 'Victim Of Love'
7. 'Pretty Maids All In A Row'
8. 'Try And Love Again'
9. 'The Last Resort'
Disc Two: Live at The Los Angeles Forum (October 1976)
1. 'Take It Easy'
2. 'Take It To The Limit'
3. 'New Kid In Town'
4. 'James Dean'
5. 'Good Day In Hell'
6. 'Witchy Woman'
7. 'Funk #49'
8. 'One Of These Nights'
9. 'Hotel California'
10. 'Already Gone'

More about:

Photo: Press