With traces of John Lydon still intact
Cai Trefor
15:56 5th April 2017

Leftfield have unleashed a remix of their song ‘Open Up’, their legendary electropunk collaboration with John Lydon. Remixed by dubstep producer Skream, it comes ahead of the release of Leftism 22, a 22 year anniversary reissue of the electronic duo’s seminal debut album Leftism.

When electronica musicians Neil Barnes and Paul Daley first released ‘Open Up’ in 1993 the song was a critical and commercial hit. It also came as a great surprise to many, not least because it featured John Lydon of Sex Pistols and Public Image Ltd on lead vocals.

Skream’s remix is a contemporary reimagining of ‘Open Up’, bridging the gap between twenty years of dance music evolution, and adding even more diversity to the track's already seemingly disparate confluence of musical talents. As Paul Daley reflects, “There has been so much music and new genres since we made ‘Leftfism’. The baton has been passed on four or five generations but I like to think our record gave music and pop culture a little nudge at the time.”

Leftfield’s debut record was certainly more than ‘a little nudge’ for the future of dance music when it was first released in January 1995. It was nominated for the Mercury Prize that year, and Leftismremains one of the hallmarks for British house, leading the genre away from the dominating American styles with its blending of the popular music timeline and geography into a dark but completely immaculate whole.

“I'm really honoured and often deeply moved by all the amazing things that people say about the record,” says Neil Barnes, “Having Matt Colton re-master the album was a real pleasure, and I realised that Paul and I had created something really special.” Leftfield, now led solely by Barnes, will also be performing Leftism live in its entirety for the first time to mark the release of this seminal reissue.

Leftism 22 will be released 5 May this year. It will be available in a limited edition 3xLP vinyl, and in digital and 2xCD editions. The reissue will also feature all 11 original tracks remixed by a host of artists, including Skream, Adrian Sherwood, BodyJack and Voiski.

Leftfield will perform Leftism live on the following dates, check here for ticket information

11 May - Bristol, Motion
12 May - London, O2 Academy Brixton
13 May - London, O2 Academy Brixton
19 May - Birmingham, O2 Institute
20 May - Manchester, O2 Apollo
26 May - Glasgow, Barrowlands
27 May - Glasgow, Barrowlands
30 July Camp Bestival