Ghost Culture, Mew and Swim Deep also added to the bill
Andy Morris

09:17 27th February 2015

Kate Tempest, George The Poet, Ghost Culture, Mumdance & Novelist are just some of the 100 bands, DJs and musicians that have been added to this year's Great Escape lineup.

One of the UK's best small festivals for discovering new talent, The Great Escape celebrates its 10th anniversary this year with over 400 bands taking part in the Brighton festival from 14-16 May. Tempest will play at Brighton Dome Corn Exchange with support from verbose petrolhead George The Poet and spoken word specialist Hollie McNish.

Other new additions to the lineup include Mew, Kelela, Nao, Shamir (of 'On The Regular' fame), Mumdance & Novelist, Swim Deep, M.O, LA Priest, Dralms, 18+ and Stormzy - last seen performing alongside Kanye West at the Brit Awards 2015.

The organisers have also announced Great Day Out, an iniative on 16th May designed for fans over 14 years old. The first announcement is Lawson.

The full list of bands joining today are: 18+, Aldous Garding, Arkells, Asylums, Birth Of Joy, Blaenavon, Blossoms, Boxed In, Broods, Bulbul, Cairo, Cash + David, Cold Fronts, Common Tongues, Cristol And The Sea, Cuckoolander, Dark Waves, Delta Rae, DMs, DOPE D.O.D, Dornik, Dralms, Ekkah, Fist City, Flight Brigade, Freeweights, Garbanotas Bossistas, George Maple, George The Poet, Ghost Culture, Heat, Habitats, Hector Bizerk, High Tyde, Highs, Hollie McNish, Holy Holy, Intergalactic Loves, Jack + Eliza, Jeremy Loops, Joyce Manor, K.Flay, Kadebostany, Kalu Uchis, Kanzi, Kate Boy, Kate Tempest, Kelala, Knights, LA Priest, Lake Komo, Lawson, Leaf Rapids, Louis Baker, M.O, Mew, Mountain Bike, Mr Peter Hayden, Mumdance & Novelist, Nao, Neon Waltz, Nimmo, No Joy, Noah Kin, Nothing But Thieves, Oscar, Pinksinyulultrablast, Pity Sex, Playground Zero, Pollyanna, Port Isla, Prose, Puts Marie, Redder, Rival Consoles, Rukhsana Merrise, Seafret, Shamir, Shannon Saunders, Soley, Sons Of Bill, Steve N Seagulls, Stormzy, Sudakistan, Sun Club, Sundara Karma, Susanne Sundfor, Swin Deep, Tears & Marble, Tenterhook, The Beach, The Flavr Blue, The Indien, The Posies, The Posterz, The Well, Todd Dorigo, Turtle, Vaults, Vok, Vukovi, Wand and We Are Shining.

They join Alabama Shakes, Little Simz, Slaves, Django Django, Jack Garrett and Laura Doggett. Having last played the festival in 2012 Alabama Shakes are particularly proud to be on the bill. "We are very happy to return to Brighton for The Great Escape," they said. " We had a blast last time. We just finished our new record and very excited to share it with the TGE audience."

Watch Laura Doggett perform 'Phoenix' for Gigwise below

The initial batch of names included: 1987, 36?, Acollective, Adam French, Admiral Fallow, Ak/Dk, All Tvvins, Alo Wala, Andrea Balency, Andy Shauf, Apes, April Towers, Aquilo, Aurora, Awesome Tapes From Africa, Bad Breeding, Bad//Dreems, Banoffee, Bella Figura, Black Honey, Black Peaks, Boothroyd, Bully, C.A.R., Cairobi, Charles Howl, Charlie Straw, Chelou, Choir Of Young Believers, Clarence Clarity, Close Talker, Cosmo Sheldrake, Creeper, Creepoid, Dark Moon, Demob Happy, and Dutch Uncles. Other acts confirmed today include Elder Island, Ewert And The Two Dragons, Fantasma, Fismoll, Flo Morrissey, Flyying Colours, Forever Pavot, Formation, Fraser A Gorman, Freddie Dickson & The Guard, From Indian Lakes, Gabrielle Papillon, Gengahr, Girl Band, Groenland, H.Hawkline, Hælos, Happyness, Honne, Human Hair, Ibeyi, Ivy & Gold, Jack Garratt, Jagaara, Jasmine Thompson, Jordan Klassen, Jp Cooper, Kagoule, Kevin Devine, Kiko Bun, Klaus Johann Grobe, Lake Malawai, Lapsley, Laura Doggett, Lazytalk, Le Galaxie, Lee Bains Iii & The Glory Fires, Les Big Byrd, Life, Little Mary, Little Simz, Louis Berry, Louis Mttrs, Low Roar, Loyle Carner, Lubomyr Melnyk, Mapei, Meat Wave, Menace Beach, Monica Heldal, Moumoon, Mt Wolf, My Baby, Nick Brewer, and Oceaán. Also heading for the Brighton bash will be Orla Gartland, Osca, Oscar & The Wolf, Passepied, Pierce Brothers, Pins, Popstrangers, Pretty Vicious, Prom, Rag N Bone Man, Rat Boy, Real Lies, Remi, Rolls Bayce, Saint Motel, Saskwatch, Seinabo Sey, Shelter Point, Silences, Single Mothers, Songhoy Blues, Sunset Sons, Sway Clarke Ii, Tei Shi, Thabo & The Real Deal, The Bohicas, The Garden, The Hearts, The Lytics, The Magic Gang, The Merrylees, The Picturebooks, The Riptide Movement, The St Pierre Snake Invasion, The Young Benjamins, This Be The Verse, Thomston, The Thurston Moore Band, Tops, Tor Miller, Turbowolf, Twerps, Twin Wild, Usa Nails, Vérité, Vilde Tuv, Vodun, Vogue Dots, Walking On Cars, Ward Thomas, Yak, Yosi Horikawa, and Zun Zun Egui.

A 3-day Festival ticket gives you access to the core venues, subject to each capacity.