First track from first album in 20 years, The Endless River, emerges
Andy Morris

14:56 9th October 2014

More about:

Pink Floyd's new track 'Louder Than Words' has been revealed, the first taste of the band's hugely anticipated album The Endless River. Listen to the track below.

The track was premiered by Chris Evans on his BBC Radio 2 show but has now appeared online (via Stereogum). Complete with choral backing and a soaring Floyd guitar, 'Louder Than Words' offers a stately depiction of undying love, a tribute to Richard Wright and the importance of overcoming petty differences.

The album is mostly instrumental but 'Louder Than Words' features vocals from novelist (and Gilmour's wife) Polly Samson.

The album is the band's first in 20 years, and features material from late keyboard player Wright - who died in 2008. 

Speaking to BBC 6 Music, singer David Gilmour said: "Well, Rick is gone. This is the last thing that’ll be out from us."

Matt Everitt then asked “Definitely?”, before Gilmour replied "Yes, I’m pretty certain there will not be any follow up to this.

"And Polly, my wife, thought that would be a very good lyrical idea to go out on. A way of describing the symbiosis that we have. Or had."

When asked about the legacy of Wright on the band, Gilmour replied: "He has been underestimated by the public, by the media and by us at times I hate to say. I didn’t necessarily always give him his proper due. People have very different attitudes to the way they work and we can become very judgemental and think someone is not quite pulling his weight enough, without realising that theirs is a different weight to pull."

Nick Mason continued: "I think the tendency is that the most attention is played to the songs or the guitar part or whatever, and sad old drummers and keyboard players get left behind. I think it’s been a great opportunity; it is a great opportunity to recognise, remember and maybe give some credit rather late on.

"He was very gentle, very quiet, which doesn’t help if you’re in a band looking to promote yourself of course."

The Endless River is released 10 November.

Below: From Pink Floyd to Muse, the incredible artwork of Storm Thorgerson 

  • Thornley 'Come Again' - CD front, Road Runner Records 2004, Design & Photos StormStudios 

  • 10cc 'How Dare You' - Vinyl front, 1975, Design & Photos Hipgnosis

  • Phish 'Slip Stitch and Pass' - CD front, 1997, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • Pink Floyd 'The Dark Side Of The Moon', 1972, Hipgnosis

  • Yumi 'Matsutoya Setsugekka', CD single, 2003, Design & Photos StormStudios 

  • Nick Mason 'Inside Out' - Book Cover, 2004, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • Muse 'Black Holes & Revelations', CD front, 2006, Design & Photography The Men Of Mystery

  • Ian Dury & The Blockheads 'Mr Lovepants' - CD album front, 1999, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • Led Zeppelin 'Presence', vinyl front, 1976, Hipgnosis

  • yourcodenameis:milo 'Ignoto' - CD front, 2005, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • Pink Floyd 'Animals' - Vinyl gatefold, 1977, Design Roger Waters Photos & Artwork Hipgnosis

  • Pink Floyd 'Back Catalogue'

  • The Cortinas 'Defiant Pose' - Single Cover, 1977, Design & Photos Hipgnosis

  • Deepest Blue 'Is It A Sin' - CD single, 2004, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • The Mars Volta 'Amputechture' - CD front, unused 2006, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • Audioslave 'Audioslave' - CD front, 2002, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • The Mars Volta 'Frances The Mute' - CD front, 2004, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • Pink Floyd 'Ummagumma' - Vinyl gatefold front, 1969, Design and photos Hipgnosis

  • Led Zepplin 'In Through The Out Door', Vinyl front, 1976, Design & Photography Hipgnosis

  • The Cranberries 'Bury The Hatchet' - CD cover, 1999, Design & Photos StormStudios

  • XTC 'Go2' - LP front, 1978, Design & Photos Hipgnosis

More about:

Photo: Press