Trio lark about as the apocalypse draws near
Andrew Trendell

10:15 21st October 2013

More about:

The video for the collaborative single from Calvin Harris and Alesso featuring Hurts has been unveiled. Watch the clip for 'Under Control' below.

Alesso first dropped the track at a DJ set in Ibiza this summer. The track is a true Euro club banger, with a relentless 90s house beat and rave synths forming the foundation beneath Hutchcraft's trademark melodramatic vocals. The video sees the dance superstar and Hurts frontman looking moody, pissing about and performing live in the face of the oncoming apocalypse. Such lads, they are. 

The collaboration was confirmed earlier this year when Alesso took to Twitter to say that he, Harris and Hutchcraft are recording a track together, that was reportedly sounding 'big'.

Harris confirmed this later, adding: "He's not lying." This turned into a bit of a chain reply with Hutchcraft responding adding "They're not lying" to his retweet.

Watch the video for 'Under Control' below

Expect to hear the track live when Harris hits the road for a full UK tour with Tiesto this December. Full dates are below:

Weds 18th Belfast Odyssey Arena
Thurs 19th Dublin O2 Arena
Fri 20th London Earls Court
Sat 21st Manchester Manchester Phones 4 U Arena
Sun 22nd Glasgow Hydro Arena

Tickets for the tour are on sale now. For more information, visit Gigwise Gig Tickets.

Below: Calvin Harris - from Scottish pop geek to the world's top earning DJ

  • Calvin Harris began his music career recording demos in his bedroom throughout his teens and in 2003 pursued an unsuccessful attempt to crack the London music scene - but ended up returning to his hometown in Dumfries, Scotland. In 2004, he released the track 'Let Me Know' with the vocalist Ayah Marah, who featured on his most recent No.1 single 'Thinking About You'.

  • In 2007, Calvin Harris received his first big breakthrough with the release of his debut album I Created Disco, which featured the hit singles 'Acceptable In The 80s' and 'The Girls', both of which entered the Top 10 in the UK singles chart.

  • Following his debut album release, Harris caught the attention of Australian pop singer Kylie Minogue who recruited him to co-write and produce two songs on her 2007 album, X. Harris has continued his working relationship with Minogue, working with her again on her album, Aphrodite in 2010.

  • 2008 saw Harris collaborate with rapper Dizzee Rascal on his single 'Dance Wiv Me'. He produced and sang on the single which went on to reach No.1 in the UK. He later produced Dizzee's single 'Holiday' in 2009 which also charted at No.1.

  • In 2009, Calvin Harris released his second studio album, Ready For The Weekend, which entered the charts at No.1 in the UK album chart. The lead single 'I'm Not Alone' also went straight to the top spot, knocking Lady Gaga's 'Poker Face' off the chart summit. Other singles from the album include 'Flashback' and 'You Used To Hold Me'.

  • In late 2009, Harris caused amusing controversy by gatecrashing the X Factor stage and holding a pineapple on his head whilst the Irish duo Jedward were mid performance. He later apologised on Twitter stating "At the end of the day, I had a pineapple on my head. Sorry if I caused anyone embarrassment. Ps. I love Jedward."

  • Harris has claimed that his Rihanna collaboration, 'We Found Love' changed everything for his career and cemented his position as one of the main players in the dance music scene. He produced 'Where Have You Been' and 'We Found Love' for the R&B singer's sixth studio album, Talk That Talk, in 2011, that latter track was to also feature on his own album, 18 Months.

  • 2012 to present has seen Harris's third studio album, 18 Months, not only dominate the charts but also feature a mighty collection of collaborations. The big names include Ellie Goulding, who he co-starred with in the raunchy video for the single 'I Need Your Love', Florence Welch, Tinie Tempah, Example, Kelis and Ne-Yo.

  • As well as being Calvin Harris's consecutive No.1 album, 18 Months made chart history, as it earned Harris the staggering achievement of releasing nine Top 10 hits from just one studio album, securing him a place in the world records. He has become the first artist to beat Michael Jackson's record of 7 Top 10 hits from one album. (Photo: Calvin Harris, Facebook)

Issue Two of the Gigwise Print magazine is on sale now! Buy it here.

More about: