The Electric Lady set for September release
michael baggs
10:02 8th June 2013

Janelle Monae has revealed that her forthcoming album The Electric Lady will feature vocals from Miguel and 'great friend' Prince.

Monae's second record is set to be released later this year (September) and has been co-produced by Deep Cotton and Roman GianArthur, fellow members of the Wondaland Arts Society.

The American singer is yet to tell us which track Prince features on, but revealed that Miguel will appear on a song called 'Primetime' which samples The Pixies' track 'Where Is My Mind?'.

Speaking of her relationship with Prince, Monae told Billboard: "We are great friends, and he is a mentor to us, to me. It's a beautiful thing to have a friend - someone who cares about your career, and wants to see you go far and to push boundaries and shake up the world - give whatever they possibly can to the cause."

Miguel will feature on Janelle Monae's forthcoming album

"It's not every day that he collaborates. I'm honored and humbled that he trusted me. He is forever my friend, and I am forever indebted. I can't say too much else about it."

Monae also explained that she is hoping to, "tell universal stories in unforgettable ways" on an album which will also include lead single 'Q.U.E.E.N' - a collaboration with Erykah Badu that has sold around 31,000 copies since it's release.

Below - Good things come in small packages: the ten shortest men in music