A further taste of September's Faith
Jessie Atkinson
13:45 30th July 2020

More about:

Hurts continue their transcendent, wounded path towards their forthcoming album Faith. 'Somebody' is a fourth taste of the fifth studio album and another huge, earth-shaking electro-pop song.

More determined than its devastating predecessors, 'Somebody' is a bold self-care anthem that focuses on moving on from people who treat you poorly. Bass crescendos like a part of your soul is shaking itself free and Theo Hutchcraft projects his newfound power to the skies.

Then there's the fuzzed out guitar solo at the close of the song. Killer:

'Somebody' follows 'Redemption', 'Voices' and 'Suffer' - all three huge electronic bangers with connections to Massive Attack and Depeche Mode.

""Somebody" is a song about defiance, strength and getting back up when you’ve been knocked down. It’s a change of gear from the other songs we’ve released so far, but it showcases an intensity and energy that occupies part of the album," Hutchcraft said.

Faith will be the duo's first album since 2017's Desire, an album whose tour nearly broke the band down to breaking point: “I was physically and mentally absolutely exhausted,” multi-instrumentalist Anderson says, "I couldn’t think, I couldn’t focus, or anything. And I didn’t know what the future held really. I didn’t know if we’d make another album again.”

Faith Tracklist:

01. Voices
02. Suffer
03. Fractured
04. Slave To Your Love
05. All I Have To Give
06. Liar
07. Somebody
08. Numb
09. Redemption
10. White Horses
11. Darkest Hour

Faith arrives 4 September via Lento Records.


More about:

Photo: Press