A whole new iteration of sound for the live electronic merchants of chill
Cai Trefor
11:50 15th May 2019

Chances are if you’ve looked for laid back electronic soundscapes then you’ve heard Tycho’s 2016 Grammy-nominated Epoch – a real go-to album when it comes to something blissful with repeat value.

The follow up to that album, Weather, has just been announced for release on 12 July via Mom + Pop Music and Ninja Tune. The lead single, ‘Pink & Blue’, streaming below, is a change in direction in that it’s Tycho’s first ever release with a lead vocal, and marks the first of a handful of vocal-led tracks that are on the album.

The honour of being asked to sing on top of the mesmerising swirls of electronic sound and multi-effected electric guitar that make up ‘Pink & Blue’ goes to singer Hannah Cottrell, aka Saint Sinner. Sinner will also tour with the band for their upcoming shows. See the only UK date below.

Of writing the lyrics to the song, Cottrell says in a press release:

"The lines, 'Oh, pink and blue, you know I look good on you', originally stemmed from when I was romantically involved with a man and a woman simultaneously, for the first time in my life.” Cottrell explains. “It was a defining moment for me. I went from being a young religious kid who thought she would marry a man to a young woman who realised her love for women. Pink & Blue’ is a love song to no one, to everyone, and to myself. It’s a sweet reminder to all lovers to hold onto their love with open arms; to be fearless about any type of love and to be fearless about losing their love. Love is never lost.”

Meanwhile, Tycho, real name Scott Hansen, was creative director of the above accompanying video for the single. It is directed by Chloe Corner and stars Saint Sinner.

Weather track list:

1. Easy (listen)
2. Pink & Blue (official video)
3. Japan
4. Into The Woods
5. Skate
6. For How Long
7. No Stress
8. Weather

Tycho UK show:
05 - London, Printworks

Photo: Press