She’s paving her very own path, one smash hit at a time
Elli Chappelhow

12:48 19th April 2019

Aged 23, Mabel is already poised to join the pop hall of fame. 2019 has already been a huge year for the star, and it will see her routinely surpassing the high expectations she has for herself. Now she has announced details of her debut album High Expectations dropping 12 July via Polydor.

The singer, who is presently the highest-charting British female in Spotify’s global charts, is surely one of the most candid lyricists. She seemingly has an innate ability to explore the challenges of identity and relationships with the type of sensibility and perceptiveness of someone with a few more years head start on her. 

Speaking about the album, Mabel comments: “High Expectations the title says it all. It’s about the expectations I have of myself, other people’s expectations of me and vice versa, especially in relationships. The general topic of the project is the negatives and positives that come with that. I want to send a positive message to everyone that’s going to listen to it. I’ve gained so much confidence from writing this album and that’s what I want people to take from it.”

The twice-BRIT-nominated singer-songwriter will continue striving to exceed her high expectations. This ambitious record will undoubtedly become a soundtrack for many people’s lives, with anthemic lyrics that chronicle mental health struggles, young love, girl power and identity. 

Mabel has also announced plans to tour with Khalid later this year. It’s looking like the ambitious singer is set to dominate 2019. 

High Expectations tracklist:

1.     High Expectations (Intro)
2.     Bad Behaviour
3.     Don’t Call Me Up
4.     FML
5.     We Don’t Say…
6.     Selfish Love ft. Kamille
7.     Lucky (Interlude)
8.     Mad Love
9.     Trouble
10.   Put Your Name On It
11.   Stckhlm Syndrome (Interlude)
12.   OK (Anxiety Anthem)
13.   I Belong To Me
14.   High Expectations (Outro)

Bonus tracks:

15.   Finders Keepers (with Kojo Funds)
16.   Fine Line (with Not3s)
17.   My Lover (with Not3s)
18.   Ring Ring (with Jax Jones)
19.   Cigarette (with RAYE & Stefflon Don)
20.   Not Sayin’

Photo: Press