The guitarist delves further into his history and unearths proto-Led Zeppelin songs
Julian Marszalek

11:03 29th August 2017

Former Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimmy Page has delved further back into his past by producing an 18-track Yardbirds compilation album that focuses on rare material recorded in 1968. Yardbirds ’68 is a double album and will feature eight studio recordings plus 10 live tracks recorded at the Anderson Theatre in New York in March 1968.

The album will be of particular interest to Led Zeppelin fans as it contains early versions of ‘Dazed And Confused’ and ‘White Summer’. Also included is The Yardbirds’ version of ‘Knowing That I’m Losing You’ which later became ‘Tangerine’ on 1970’s Led Zeppelin III. You can check out a Yardbirds version of 'Dazed And Confused' below.

Yardbirds ’68 will be available in a deluxe box set signed by Page and former bandmates Jim McCarty and Chris Deja, plus CD and vinyl editions and is released on November 5. Autographed copies are only available on pre-orders via Jimmy Page's website.

Formed in London in 1963, The Yardbirds were one of the most influential bands of the 60s. Initially blues-based, they became well known for their “rave-up” instrumental breaks as well as pioneering works in the fields of psychedelia and proto-hard rock. Legendary guitarists Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page all passed through their ranks. The latter formed Led Zeppelin following The Yardbirds split in 1968.

Yardbirds ’68 tracklisting is:

Live at Anderson Theater

1. Train Kept A Rollin’
2. Mr, You’re A Better Man Than I
3. Heart Full of Soul
4. Dazed And Confused
5. My Baby
6. Over Under Sideways Down
7. Drinking Muddy Water
8. Shapes of Things
9. White Summer
10. I’m A Man (contains Moanin’ And Sobbin’)

Studio Sketches

1. Avron Knows
2. Spanish Blood
3. Knowing That I’m Losing You (Tangerine)
4. Taking A Hold On Me
5. Drinking Muddy Water (Version Two)
6. My Baby
7. Avron’s Eyes
8. Spanish Blood (Instr.)

Photo: Facebook