Grohl conducted the Beatles legend for a track on the forthcoming album Conrete and Gold
Cai Trefor
23:33 2nd August 2017

Dave Grohl has revealed one of the biggest stars on the new Foo Fighters record is Paul McCartney who plays drums.

Grohl, who has been speaking very excitedly of the new Foo Fighters record named Concrete and Gold, divulged the information in an interview with ET Canada.

"Paul McCartney plays drums on one of our songs,” he said of his childhood hero and songwriting muse. “He’s a pal. We’ve known him for a long. He’s great. He’s the most wonderful person in the world. He’s a great guy,” said Grohl “He hadn’t even heard of the song,” the band added. “He comes in and Dave picked up an acoustic and showed him real quick. He sat on his special drum set that his tech set up for him. I sat there with a drumstick conducting. He did two takes.”

The Foos singer previously recorded with McCartney in his film about the Neve recording desk used to make Nevermind and a whole host of classic albums in the Sound City studio. McCartney had the honour of standing in Cobain's shadow as all the surviving members of Nirvana played backing for him. The song called 'Cut Me Some Slack' was a co-write between Smear, Novoselic, Grohl and McCartney and was nominated for a Grammy.

The news of McCartney's involvement comes just over a month before the album is out - and Grohl has been barely able to contain himself having descrbed it as a "gigantic rock record" and like "Motorhead doing Sgt. Peppers or something".

In addition to McCartney, Alison Mosshart of The Kills appears on 'La Dee Da' and 'The Sky Is a Neighborhood'. Boyz II Men singer Shawn Stockman sings on the title track to the album and according to The Rolling Stone, Stockman created a choir of himself with 40 vocals on top of each other.

There's also a backing vocal on the album on one of the heaviest songs on the record from “probably the biggest pop star in the world." Grohl is unwilling to leak who that is so far and has been having fun watching people guess wildly wrong. Adele and Taylor Swift have been ruled out. Our guess is that it's probably a heritage act and that the current big stars leading the rumour mills are way off - either that or it's Bieber.

Concrete and Gold tracklist

1. T-Shirt
2. Run
3. Make It Right
4. The Sky Is A Neighbourhood
5. La Dee Da
6. Dirty Water
7. Arrows
8. Happy Ever After (Zero Hour)
9. Sunday Rain
10. The Line
11. Concrete and Gold

More about:

Photo: Press