New record also features a Bob Marley cover
Tom Skinner

12:26 29th June 2017

Deerhoof have returned with the new single ‘I Will Spite Survive’ and shared details of a new album Mountain Moves, due out September 8. Listen to the track and see info below.

Just over a year after their last record The Magic, the band will return with a collection of original tracks and covers. Mountain Moves will include 12 new tracks and three covers - which are renditions of Bob Marley and The Staples Singers tracks.

The collaborative studio project that is Mountain Moves features the likes of Stereolab’s Læticia Sadier, Awkwafina, Juana Molina, Xenia Rubinos, Matana Roberts and Wye Oak's Jenn Wasner who sings on first single “I Will Spite Survive”.

“If Mountain Moves were a movie, it would be a double feature, Journey to the Center of the Deerhoof and Escape from Planet Deerhoof, shown side-by-side simultaneously.” a press releases reads. 

“The record epitomizes the band at its very best, exploring new realms between the poles of independence and invention. It also serves as a welcoming point of entry for new listeners outside Deerhoof's traditional orbit, an opportunity to bring even more voices into the communal conversation. We're all in this together.”

Deerhoof will take Mountain Moves on the road later this year. The band have shows scheduled at End Of The Road Festival, London’s Village Underground and Ramsgate Music Hall. Last year saw the band play to huge audiences as they supported Red Hot Chili Peppers across Europe. 

Mountain Moves tracklist:

01. Slow Motion Detonation (ft. Juana Molina)
02. With Sordino
03. I Will Spite Survive 
04. Come Down Here and Say That (ft. Lætitia Sadier)
05. Thanks to life (Violeta Parra cover)
06. Begin Countdown
07. Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You (ft. Awkwafina)
08. That's Me
09. Palace of the Governors
10. Singalong Junk (ft. Xenia Rubinos)
11. Mountain Moves (ft. Matana Roberts)
12. Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers)
13. Sea Moves (ft. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff)
14. Creamy
15. Small Axe (Bob Marley)

UK tour dates

03/09 - Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
04/09- London, UK @ Village Underground
05/09- Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Music Hall - sold out










Photo: Press