Track is taken from Strange Weather, feat David Byrne
Andrew Trendell

17:08 13th May 2014
Anna Calvi has unveiled her version of 'Papi Pacify' by FKA twigs from her upcoming covers EP, Strange Weather. Check it out below.

Her rendition of the rising star's breakthrough track is drenched in Calvi's Morricone-esque, cinematic Western sense of melodrama, whilst retaining the shudder-inducing intimacy of the original. It's gorgeous - not least for the vulnerability displayed in Calvi's soaring vocal. 

Strange Weather is a five-track EP due for release on 14 July, featuring covers of the David Bowie, Keran Ann, Suicide and Connan Mockasin. As if that wasn't enough, it also features collaborations with Jonsi collaborator Nico Muhly and Talking Heads turned solo icon, David Byrne.

Listen to Anna Calvi's cover of 'Papi Pacify' below

"I’m a big fan of Anna's two records," says Byrne of the collaboration. "I caught her tour after her first record at Bowery Ballroom here in NY. ‘Epic’ I think is the word that is often used. So when Thomas Bartlett said he was going to be in the studio producing an EP of Anna doing covers I immediately agreed to join in.

"I was invited to suggest songs and I loved the last Keren Ann record and I thought Strange Weather had a haunting quality that might suit Anna.... so we did that, and Anna then suggested I join in on the Connan Mockasin track she'd done too."

The tracklisting for Strange Weather is:

1. Papi Pacify (FKA twigs)
2. I’m The Man, That Will Find You (Connan Mockasin) – featuring David Byrne
3. Ghost Rider (Suicide)
4. Strange Weather (Keren Ann) – Anna Calvi and David Byrne
5. Lady Grinning Soul (David Bowie)

Anna Calvi will be returning to the UK to perform at Glastonbury, the Isle Of Wight Festival, Latitude and Green Man this summer. For more information visit Gigwise tickets

Below: Exclusive photos of Anna Calvi at The Troxy and George Tavern, London 2014

Photo: Justine Trickett