The Orwwells, Chloe Howl and tons of others to hit Texas
Andrew Trendell

10:23 8th January 2014

South By Southwest festival 2014 has announced another unfathomably massive wave of acts for this year's event. 

Bands joining the hundreds of acts that already include the likes of Gary Numan, London Grammar and The Black Lips include (deep breath) Twin Shadow, Charli XCX, Julian Lennon, Chloe Howl, Dum Dum Girls, Rustie, Ryan Hemsworth, Mobb Deep, Action Bronson, Angel Olsen, OFF!, Hospitality, Tyvek, S. Carey, Big Freedia, Mr. MFN eXquire, Denzel Curry, The Orwells, King Louie, Machinedrum, Black Milk, and Katie Got Bandz.

The festival, held annually in Austin, Texas, will run from 11-16 March in 2014. It is an urban festival held as as industry showcase as well as for fans. Every year hundreds of hopeful bands go across from these shores looking to be picked up by an industry hungry for new talent.

Watch the video for 'Superlove' by Charli XCX below

For more information on SXSW and to see the insanely biblical line-up, visit here

Below: Everything we know about festival season 2014 so far

  • Sonisphere (UK): Metallica, Iron Maiden, The Prodigy, Airbourne, Alice In Chains, Ghost, Ghojira, Karnivool, Mastodon, Slayer

  • T In The Park: Arctic Monkeys

  • Download (UK): Linkin Park, Aerosmith, Avenged Sevenfold, Rob Zombie, Fall Out Boy, The Offspring, Status Quo, Alterbridge, Steel Panther, Blessthefall, Crossfaith, In Flames, Letlive, Miss May I, Dying Fetus, Trivium, While She Sleeps, The Black Dahlia Murder, Arcane Roots, Sikth, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Volbeat, Suicide Silence, Buckcherry, Memphis May Five, Battlecross, Jack E Lee's Red Dragon Cartel, The Art is Murder, The Amity Affliction, Avatar, Lonely and the Brave, Feed the Rhino

  • Oya (Norway): Queens of the Stone Age, ROyksopp & Robyn Do it Again 2014, Neutral Milk Hotel, Jonathan Wilson, Joey bada$$, Deafheaven, Spidergawd, Hanne Kolsto, Daniel kvammen, Omar Souleyman, Nadine, Shah, Emilie Nicolas, Thulsa Doom, Bombino

  • Open'er (Poland): The Black Keys, Phoenix, Pearl Jam, Bokka T.

  • Optimus Alive (Portugal): Imagine Dragons, Interpol, Arctic Monkeys, The Black Keys, The Lumineers, Chet Faker, Polica, MGMT, Caribou, Chet Faker

  • Primavera Sound (Spain): Arcade Fire, Pixies, Neutral Milk Hotel

  • Optimus Primavera Sound (Portugal): Pixies, Neutral Milk Hotel

  • Rock Werchter (Belgium): Placebo, Arctic Monkeys, Metallica, Pearl Jam, The Black Keys, Skrillex, Arctic Monkeys, Major Lazer, Jack Johnson, Pixies, The Black Keys, Triggerfinger, Franz Ferdinand

  • Rock-A-Field (Luxemburg): Thirty Seconds To Mars, Skrillex, Foals, Triggerfinger, Sportfreunde Stiller, Wiz Khalifa, The Hives, Gentleman, Thees Uhlmann & Band, Angel At My Table

  • Ibiza Rocks (Spain): The 1975, Haim

  • Isle Of Wight (UK): Biffy Clyro, Calvin Harris, Passenger, Rudimental, The 1975, The Waterboys

  • British Summer Time (UK): Neil Young, McBusted, The National, Tom Odell, Flyte, Backstreet Boys, Phosphorescent, Caitlin Rose

  • Hideout (Croatia): Disclosure (DJ Set), Rudimental (DJ Set), Loco Dice, Solomun, Sasha, Ame, Andy C, Apollonia, Bicep, Bondax (DJ Set), BrEaCh, Cassy, Davide Squillace, Dusky, George Fitzgerald, Guti Heidi, Jackmaster, John Talabot, Joy Orbison, MK, Redlight, Scuba, Skream, Tale Of Us, tINI, Wilkinson, Artwork, Ben Pearce, Boddika, B.Traits, Camo & Krooked, Daniel Avery, David Rodigan Ez, Ejeca, Fred V and Grafix, Friction, Gerd Janson, Gorgon City, Huxley, Hype, Justin Martin, Laura Jones, Mano le Tough, Oneman, Ryan Elliot, Shy FX, Subb-an, Ten Walls, Waze & Odyssey, FunkinEven, Kowton, Last Magpie, Matt Long, Mike Jones, North Base, PBR Streetgang, People Get Real, Ralph Lawson, Route94, Simon Baker, The Sonic Emporium, Tom Grainger, Trevino, Waifs and Strays

  • Rock Am Ring (Germany): Kings Of Leon, Iron Maiden, Linkin Park, Metallica, Queens Of The Stone Age, Alligatoah, Alter Bridge, Avenged Sevenfold, Babyshambles, Booka Shade, Die Fantastischen Vier, Fall Out Boy, Ghost, Gogol Bordello, Gojira, Heaven Shall Burn, In Extremo, In Flames, Jake Bugg, Jan Delay & Disko No. 1, John Newman, Klangkarussell, Kvelertak, Left Boy, Mando Diao, Marteria, Mastodon, Maximo Park, Milky Chance, Nine Inch Nails, Of Mice & Men, Opeth, Portugal. The Man, Rob Zombie, Rudimental, SDP, Sierra Kidd, Slayer, Suicide Silence, Teesy, The Offspring, UVM

  • Bilbao BBK Live (Spain): Franz Ferdinand, The 1975, The Lumineers, Phoenix, Polica, MGMT, White Lies, Dorian, Elliott Brood, Jack Johnson, The Black Keys, Belako, Chet Faker, Crystal Fighters, Dorian, El Columpio Asesino, Imagine Dragons, Izal, John Talabot (DJ Set), La M.O.D.A, Los Enemigos

  • Field Day (London, UK): Metronomy, Pixies, Danny Brown, The Temper Trap, Warpaint, Daniel Avery, James Holden, Oneohtrix Point Never, Jon Hopkins, Money, Sky Ferreira, Omar Souleyman.

  • Northside (Denmark): The National, Ane Brun, Arcade Fire, Cold Specks, Franz Ferdinand, Lucy Love, Lulu James, Mew, Pixies, Quadron, Queens of the Stone Age, Royksopp and Robyn, The Blue Van, Turboweekend, WhoMadeWho

  • Latitude (UK): Two Door Cinema Club, Royksopp & Robyn, Billy Bragg, Phosphorescent, Haim, Anna Calvi, Goat, Cass Mccombs, Marika Hackman, Willis Earl Beal, San Fermin, Son Lux, Nils Frahm

  • Reading & Leeds: Blink 182, Disclosure, Jake Bugg, Metronomy, Wilkinson, I Am Legion, Of Mice & Men

  • ATP Iceland: Interpol, Portishead, Sóley, For a Minor Reflection, Samaris, Low Roar, and Mammút

  • Glastonbury: Arcade Fire, Lily Allen (self-confirmed), Choi Go Eun, Stanton Warriors

  • Reading & Leeds: Blink 182, Disclosure, Jake Bugg, Metronomy, Wilkinson, I Am Legion, Of Mice & Men

Photo: Justine Trickett