Also The E Street Band, Cat Stevens, Hall & Oates and Linda Ronstadt
Edward Keeble

10:09 17th December 2013

This year's Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees have been announced - with Nirvana, Peter Gabriel, Kiss, Cat Stevens, Hall & Oates and Linda Ronstadt up for honours.

Bruce Springsteen's E Street Band will also be recieving the award for musical excellence. To recieve a nominations, bands have to have released their first single 25 years ago, meaning that this is the first time that it has been possible to induct Nirvana who released 'Love Buzz' way back in 1988.

The ceremony, which will take place on 10 April 2014, will also honour Beatles manager Brian Epstein and Rolling Stones manager Andrew Loog Odlham who will be presented with the non performers award. 

Below The Talking Heads are inducted into the Hall of Fame

Unfortunately, a series of nominees this year didn't make the cut, including The Replacements, N.W.A., Chic, LL Cool J, the Zombies, Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Deep Purple, Link Wray, the Meters, and Yes. 

Last year, the ceremony inducted Guns N' Roses, The Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Beastie Boys alongside a slew of others. The show will be broadcast on HBO and will be open to the public with tickets on sale.  

 Below check out photos from the 26th Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

  • Alice Cooper

  • Alice Cooper

  • Elton John

  • Alice Cooper

  • Dr John

  • Alice Cooper

  • Alice Cooper

  • John Legend

  • Neil Diamond

  • Rob Zombie

  • Leon Russell

  • Bette Midler

Issue Two of the Gigwise Print magazine is on sale now! Buy it here.