Full tracklist for album also revealed
Michael Baggs

12:01 17th September 2013

More about:

Brandon Flowers has spoken of The Killers' upcoming best-of collection, Direct Hits 2003-2013, saying he sees the release as a chance to close the chapter on the band's first decade together and help the band move on to new ventures.

The band will release their best-of album on 11 November, and it will include new, M83-produced single 'Shot At The Night' and unheard track, 'Just Another Girl', produced by Stuart Price. The full tracklist for the album is below, and Flowers has spoken of how he feels the band will progress after the release of Direct Hits.

"This record feels like a great way to clean everything up and move onto the next thing," says Flowers in an interview with NME, stating that in no way does Direct Hits signal the end of The Killers. "I’m always writing, it’s like second nature to me now, but I’m always analysing what I’ve got, and doubts can start creeping into your head. But I’m really happy with the songs we’ve got to add to the list."

Listen to The Killers' new single, 'Shot At The Night' below

The full tracklist of Direct Hits is below:

'Mr Brightside'
'Somebody Told Me'
'Smile Like You Mean It'
'All These Things That I’ve Done'
'When You Were Young'
'Read My Mind'
'For Reasons Unknown'
'A Dustland Fairytale'
'Miss Atomic Bomb'
'The Way It Was'
'Shot At The Night'
'Just Another Girl'

Deluxe Version tracks:
Mr Brightside (Original Demo)
When You Were Young (Calvin Harris remix)
Be Still

Flowers also spoke highly of the band's work with Anthony Gonzalez of M83, who produced 'Shot At The Night' and is best known for his band's 'Midnight City' hit.

"He’s one of these new skool producers," Flowers adds. "He’s a technical wizard, but you can’t discount his musicality. A lot of people do, because of the involvement of computers, but he's a real musician, too.

"He and Stuart Price may be known for working on the digital side of things, but they’re also two of the most musical guys I’ve ever met."

Below: the 20 defining moments of The Killers' career so far

  • 1. In July 2003, Brandon Flowers, Dave Keuning, Mark Stoermer, and Ronnie Vannucci Jr sign to UK label Lizard King Records after disinterest from American labels.

  • 2. Zane Lowe plays ‘Mr Brightside’ on BBC Radio 1 in August 2003. The band begin performing shows in London.

  • 3. ‘Mr Brightside’, a song in inspired by an unfaithful ex-girlfriend of Flowers, has a limited release in September 2003.

  • 4. Autumn 2003: A level of buzz now surrounds the band and Island Def Jam signs them in the US.

  • 5. Hot Fuss is released in the UK in June 2004 and is a huge success. The album reaches No.1 and goes seven times Platinum.

  • 6. Singles from the album ‘Somebody Told Me’, ‘Smile Like You Mean It’ and ‘All These Things That I’ve Done’ are further hits.

  • 7. The band are nominated for three Grammy Awards in 2005, with Hot Fuss up for Best Rock Album and ‘Somebody Told Me’ nominated for two awards including Best Rock Song.

  • 8. Brandon Flowers promises second album Sam's Town will become of the best albums of the past 20 years. However, it receives a mixed response from fans and critics when it is released in October 2006.

  • 9. Late 2006: The lead single from Sam's Town, 'When You Were Young', goes Platinum in the United States.

  • 10. The band win two Brit awards in February 2007 for Best International Act and Best International Album.

  • 11. They headline Madison Square Garden and Glastonbury Festival for the first time in April and June 2007 respectively.

  • 12. The band release a collaboration with their hero Lou Reed of The Velvet Underground, called %u2018Tranquilize%u2019. The song is taken from, Sawdust, a compilation of B-sides and rarities and is released in November 2007.

  • 13. Day & Age, the band’s third studio album, is released in November 2008, with the lead single, ‘Human’ going Platinum, although the album sells disappointingly compared to previous releases.

  • 14. In the summer of 2009, they headline American festivals Lollapalooza and Coachella for the first time. In July, they perform at London’s Royal Albert Hall over two days. A live concert DVD, Live from Royal Albert Hall, is released and goes Platinum.

  • 15. After two years of taking the Day & Age tour worldwide, the band announce a hiatus.

  • 16. During this time, lead singer Brandon Flowers releases a solo album, Flamingo, which reaches No.1. Lead single Crossfire enters the top 10.

  • 17. In June 2011, the band headline Lollapalooza and Hard Rock Calling in London for the second time after a year-and-a-half%u2019s break.

  • 18. In June 2012, fourth studio album Battle Born is released and goes straight to No.1.

  • 19. June 2013: Following on from the success of Battle Born, the band play to their biggest crowd yet, the 90,000 capacity Wembley Stadium at a critically-acclaimed headline show.

  • 20. A picture containing six lines of morse code is tweeted by the band. Fans translated the code to 'The Killers Shot At The Night' - suggesting a new track or album is on the way. Brandon Flowers is due to appear on BBC Radio 1 on 16 September, and will premiere the new single.

  • 21: On September 16, 2013, exactly ten years after their first ever show in London, the Killers released "Shot At The Night", the first single off their first greatest hits compilation, Direct Hits

  • 22. The Killers release their greatest hits album Direct Hits in November 2013. Of the album, Brandon Flowers said: "This record feels like a great way to clean everything up and move onto the next thing." Watch this space.

More about: