Peter Mayes discusses 'amazing' new sounds
michael baggs
14:06 12th March 2013

Empire of the Sun have this week announced the release of their long awaited second album, Ice On The Dune, an album the band themselves describe as sounding 'amazing'.

Ice On The Dune, which has been over a year in the making, sees Australian singer Luke Steele reunite with Pnau stars Nick Littlemore and Peter Mayes on the new album, the follow up to their 2008 album, Walking On A Dream. The album is set for release in June 2013.

In late 2012 Gigwise spoke to the behind the scenes star of Empire Of The Sun, Peter Mayes, about the album. He told us of his excitement at the sound of the new album.

"We've been working on the new Empire Of The Sun record since November 2011 and I am so excited about that right now," the producer told Gigwise. "It is sounding amazing. It's really big."

Watch the teaser trailer for the band's comeback single, 'Discovery'

Mayes also added that Empire Of The Sun would not be chasing current trends on their second release, and were aiming for a 'timeless' sound similar to their debut.

"One of the tricks with Empire is to have a certain sense of timelessness. Not nostalgia for the sake of it, but a certain musicality," he added. "Those sort of feelings go beautifully with Nick's voice. It can be really futuristic, it can be anything. It's not just a dubstep record that's going to be cool for three months."

The producer of hits such as 'Walking On A Dream' and 'We Are The People' also laughed off rumours that the trio's time promoting the first album was marred by in-band bickering and falling outs, saying that the band was really all about frontman Luke Steele (of Sleepy Jackson).

"Everyone has to be happy and obviously Luke has to be happy, because at the end of the day, Empire is really about him and his voice," he said.

Below: 13 reasons to get excited about electronic music in 2013