Huge demand for first new record in 20 years sees website brought down
Adam Tait

11:36 3rd February 2013

Interest in the new My Bloody Valentine album, released unexpectedly on Friday, 2 February 2013, was so great that the band's website crashed due to the number of fans trying to access the new material.

Yesterday (February 2) the band took to Facebook to let fans know the album would be released that evening.

Frontman Kevin Shields said the new album would be ready in ‘two or three days’ during a warm up performance in Brixton last week, and stuck to that promise.

“We are preparing to go live with the new album/website this evening. We will make an announcement as soon as it’s up,” the band’s Facebook read.

But while many returned home from Saturday nights out on the town to find Twitter ablaze with news of the album’s release, actually getting hold of it proved to be a little more tricky.

The huge demand for the follow up to Loveless, titled mbv, promptly crashed the band’s website.

There has been significant fan pressure for a new album from My Bloody Valentines for more than two decades.

The band head out on tour in the UK in March, after playing a six-date tour in Japan and four dates in Australia.

My Bloody Valentine will also be headline the 60,000 capacity Tokyo Rocks festival in May, and Primavera Sound later this year.

Speaking about the new album, Kevin Shields told NME: “"I think with this record, people who like us will immediately connect with something. Based on the very, very few people who've heard stuff – some engineers, the band, and that's about it – some people think it's stranger than Loveless. I don't. I feel like it really frees us up, and in the bigger picture it's 100 per cent necessary."

My Bloody Valentine will tour the UK in March

UK tour dates.

March 8 – Birmingham, O2 Academy
March 9 – Glasgow, Barrowlands
March 10 – Manchester, Apollo
March 12 – London, Hammersmith Apollo
March 13 – London, Hammersmith Apollo

Below: The biggest comebacks of 2013: David Bowie, Justin Timberlake and more

  • David Bowie: The legend that is Bowie released a single titled 'Where Are We Now?' on his 66th birthday, 11 January 2013. The track became Bowie's first top ten single in ten years, and was his first single release in seven years. A new album, The Next Day, is due to be released in March 2013.

  • Justin Timberlake: Timberlake has recently been better known for acting, but he announced a return to music and previewed his first new single 'Suits & Ties' on 14 January. A new album entitled The 20/20 Experience is set to be released sometime this year and will be Timberlake's first since his 2006 release Futuresex/Lovesounds.

  • Black Sabbath: The original members of Black Sabbath - Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler - have made their first new album together since their 1978 album Never Say Die!. The record is called 13, and is set to be released in June and feature 15 tracks. The band also have a few live dates planned for this year, and it's thought that more could follow.

  • Destiny's Child: Destiny's Child disbanded in 2006 so the band members could pursue their solo projects - and obviously Beyonce took better to this than the others. Now the girlband is set to perform at the Super Bowl show, and have also shared a new track, 'Nuclear'. This is their first new material in eight years.

  • Paramore: After two members of the band left, Paramore are now set to release their new album, self-titled Paramore. Not only will it be the band's first new release in three years, but it is their first record since the departure of founding members Josh and Zac Farro.

  • Daft Punk: The electro duo have excited fans all over the world with hints of festival appearances and a new album set for 2013. The record will be their first since 2005's Human After All, and features collaboration with disco star Nile Rodgers.

  • MKS: Okay, they can call themselves MKS as they don't have the rights to the Sugababes name, but we all know this is really a Sugababes comeback. Mutya, Keisha and Siobhan are releasing a new album this autumn, and the album has a track written by Emeli Sande. The girlband posted their first new material this week with a track called 'Boys'.

  • Suede: Legendary Brit-rockers Suede have announced they're releasing new album Bloodsports this year, and recently gave fans a free download of track 'Barriers'. This is their first new material since 'A New Morning' over ten years ago, and promises to be a return to form for the band.

  • The Knife: Swedish electronic music duo The Knife are releasing their first album in over half a decade. Shaking the Habitual is set for spring 2013, and will feature Shannon Funchess of synth-pop duo Light Asylum. The new record will also be followed by a number of European tour dates.

  • Dido: Dido's new album The Girl Who Got Away is her first album in five years, since the release of Grammy Award nominated Safe Trip Home in 2008. The album includes collaborations with Kendrick Lamar, Rizzle Kicks and Brian Eno amongst others, and is set to be released on 4 March 2013.

Issue Four of the Gigwise Print magazine is on pre-order now! Order here.