Record will be their first in eight years
Grace Carroll

15:16 28th January 2013

More about:

Daft Punk's first studio album in eight years is set to be released in May, according to newspaper reports today.

The Guardian confirms May as the month of release, after weekend reports suggested their fourth studio album would be released in Spring. The band have apparently left the EMI label in order to sign with Columbia, a rumour which has also been previously reported by the Hollywood Reporter and The Sun.

The album has been rumoured to be released this spring, so the apparent May date would fit with reports - Le Parisien reported spring, as did Daft Punk collaborator Nile Rodgers.

Other collaborators over the past couple of years include Oscar-winning songwriter Paul Williams, Chilly Gonzales and Animal Collective's Panda Bear, as well as a spoken monologue with Giorgio Moroder.

Rodgers also recently hinted at a release, blogging earlier this month that "the next time I set foot in Japan, my collaboration with Daft Punk would have started to hit people's eardrums."

Nile Rodgers - we want to believe...

However, it's unlikely that 2013 will see any live shows from the duo. Despite being rumoured to play Coachella, Daft Punk were not on the official line-up and Bestival organiser Rob Da Bank said that he had been told they would not play live this year.

The electronic duo's last live show was in 2007, at Wireless festival in the UK.

Below: 13 reasons to get excited about electronic music in 2013

  • The return of Daft Punk: Daft Punk look set to release fourth studio album this year. If this isn't a huge reason to get excited about electronic music in 2013, then we don't know what is. Rumours have been rife that the band will tour, but Bestival boss Rob Da Bank claims that isn't so...

  • Australian star Flume releases debut album and performs first UK giga: The Australian star will arrive in the UK for a two live shows to showcase his exciting brand of retro r&b and electronica - as well as releasing his debut, self-titled album.

  • CHVRCHES tipped for huge success by the BBC: The Glasgow three-piece have just secured a top five spot in BBC Sound of 2013 and look set to have a huge year. Delivering brilliant electro-pop and causing a stir towards the end of 2012 with debut single 'The Mother We Share' was a perfect way to introduce themselves to the electronic scene.

  • Major Lazer to release his new album this year: Major Lazer's new album is out in February and it's set to feature Shaggy, Santigold and Haim. Doesn't that sound exciting? The record was due out in November, but has been pushed back and is certainly one of the most eagerly anticipated electro offerings of the 2013.

  • The Knife return with a new album: Swedish duo The Knife return after a seven year break with a new album in April. The new album will be called Shaking The Habitual and will be The Knife's first offering since 2006's Silent Shout. If this wasn't enough, the new record will also be followed by a number of European tour dates.

  • Depeche Mode release their 13th album: The electro giants will release their 13th album this year to the delight of fans across the globe. The band believe it has a 'soulful' feel and apparently consists of some of their best ever work. Depeche Mode will also take to the stage at London's O2 Arena in May 2013 as part of a 34-date European tour.

  • French band Phoenix return to the mainstream: The French foursome will make a return with a new album is set for release this Spring. The band's breakout album, Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, was released in 2009 and housed hit singles such as '1901' and 'Lisztomania.' They have been working on the record since 2011 and it is sure to be welcomed lovingly into the electro world.

  • New Order to begin working on new material: New Order have confirmed that they will begin to work on new material in 2013. The band's successful 2012 tour has convinced the members that people are still very much interesting in their music. New Order's last studio album was released in 2005 and fans will be hoping the wait is finally over.

  • Everything Everything to step into the big time with their second album, Arc: The Mancunian quartet return with their second album Arc and a UK tour for 2013. Bringing a touch of indie-rock to the electro world, Everything Everything have been difficult to pigeon-hole, but Arc looks set to please electro fans as well as indie kids everywhere.

  • Royksopp return following 2012 single 'Running To The Sea': The production duo look set to return with an album following their new 'Running To The Sea' single. Their stunning 2012 return has hopes high for a comeback record as strong as their previous double releases Junior, and it's instrumental counterpart, Senior.

  • Katy B to follow her free Danger EP with a second album: London singer Katy B has described her second album as following her 'transition into womanhood' and if her EP is anything to go by, the transition has been a brilliant one. Katy B has also said that fans should expect less dubstep on her second effort. That news, mixed with a brilliant EP are two perfect reasons to get excited by her new material.

  • Thom Yorke to release his Atoms For Peace album: This year, Thom Yorke's Atoms For Peace will be releasing their debut album. Atoms For Peace is Yorke's side project which also includes Flea from Red Hot Chili Peppers and the LP named Amok will be out on February 25, 2013.

  • Delphic return with second album: Electronic music in 2013 will see Delphic finally release the follow-up to 2010's Acolyte. The Manchester trio will release their second album Collections on January 28. Expect to hear lots from Delphic this year as they look likely to become one of Electro-pops biggest hits of 2013 - finally set to make good of the hype surrounding their debut.

More about:

Photo: WENN