Indie music honoured at London ceremony, with The Prodigy, Adele and Django Django also winning
michael baggs
14:29 30th October 2012

Bands including Alt-J, Django Django, Enter Shikari and The Prodigy were among the winners at the second annual Association of Independent Music (AIM) Awards, held last night in London.

The ceremony, which celebrates the best in independent music, took place at The Brewery, Clerkenwell in London last night, and played host to huge names on the indie scene.

Enter Shikari were awarded one of the night's biggest awards, taking home the Independent Album Of The Year Award, while Mercury Nominees Alt-J won Independent Breakthrough.

Alt-J today revealed plans to get 'very drunk' at the Mercury Music Prize awards, although their state of sobriety at the AIM event is yet to be confirmed.

The Prodigy won Best Live Act and First Aid Kit took home the Best Difficult Second Album Award for The Lion's Roar.

Alt-J have perhaps warmed up for a Mercury win with their AIM success

"This list of winners is like no other, and truly reflects the breadth of talent and diversity in the independent sector," said Alison Wenham, CEO of the Association of Independent Music, reports The Guardian.

Record label 4AD won Independent Label Of The Year for their work with Twin Shadow, Purity Ring and Grimes, among others.

The full list of winners is below.

Best live act (voted for by visitors to - The Prodigy
Independent breakthrough of the year - Alt-J
Hardest working band or artist - 65daysofstatic
Best difficult second album - First Aid Kit, The Lion's Roar
Independent album of the year - Enter Shikari, A Flash Flood of Colour
Best small label - Black Butter Records
Genre spotlight award - Wiley, Evolve or Be Extinct
Independent entrepreneur of the year - Simon Raymonde, Bella Union
PPL award for most played independent act - Adele
Special catalogue release of the year - The 13th Floor Elevators, Music of the Spheres
Independent label of the year - 4AD
Indie champion award - Ian Evans, IME Music
Best independent festival (voted for by visitors to - LeeFest
Outstanding contribution to music - Edwyn Collins Pioneer award - Daniel Miller, Mute

Photos: a brief history of The Prodigy - from limited EP to 2012 live return