Mix CD features songs from The Invisible, Nicolas Jaar and Caribou
David Renshaw
13:24 17th May 2012

Foals have announced details of a new Mix CD titled 'Foals Tapes', to be released in July.

The album has been put together by all five members of the Oxford band features music they have shared and loved throughout their duration as a band.

Speaking about the process behind making the Tapes mix, Edwin Congreave of the band said: “It’s easy to throw some random music together and call it a DJ mix but I wanted to make something more ambitious than that”.

Adding: “We wanted it to reflect the taste of the whole band so I picked music from the last five years of shared listening. We used to tour in an ex-royal mail delivery van – the DIY band cliché - and we drove ourselves to shows listening to each other’s playlists on a ropey old cassette player. 90s math rock, Greek folk music, Kompakt compilations, early Metronomy demos, endless Arthur Russell… sometimes infuriatingly eclectic, but it stretched our minds wide open.  The Bibio remix of ‘Ted’ by Clark, in particular, sounds like the early days of the band to me, in all its hazy weirdness. It’s hugely nostalgic for all of us”. 

'Foals Tapes' is released on July 2nd and is the latest in a series of Mix CDs following The Rapture and The Big Pink. The group will launch the album at London venue XOYO on July 7th.

You can see the full tracklisting below, now.

Side A:  1. Nicolas Jaar – Variations, 2. Clark - Ted (Bibio Remix), 3. Dorian Concept - Tropical Hands, 4. Condry Ziqubu - Confusion (Ma Afrika), 5. The Invisible - London Girl, 6. JR Seaton - Way Savvy (Gatto Fritto Remix), 7. Blood Orange – Dinner, 8. Tanner Ross - B Side, 9. Teengirl Fantasy - Cheaters (John Talabot's Classic Vocal Refix), 10. Château Flight feat. Marie Daulne - Superflight (Maurice Fulton Remix), 11. In Flagranti - Effective Placebo Affect, 12. Tony Allen - Kilode (Carl Craig Remix)

Side B:  13. Art Department feat. Soul Clap & Osunlade - We Call Love, 14. Cerrone - Give Me Love (Frankie Knuckles Remix), 15. Arnold Jarvis - Take Some Time Out, 16. Oni Ayhun - OAR003-B, 17. Sepalcure - Every Day Of My Life (Jimmy Edgar Remix), 18. Marshall Jefferson vs. Noosa Heads - Mushrooms (Justin Martin Remix), 19. Julio Bashmore - Battle For Middle You (Maurice Donovan Dub), 20. Caribou - Sun (Midland Edit), 21. Konono Nº1 – Paradiso, 22. Gospel Comforters - Yes God Is Real