Icelandic band unveil first track from 'Valtari' album
michael baggs
16:17 26th March 2012

Following the announcement of the band's eighth studio album 'Valtari' earlier today, Icelandic superstars Sigur Ros have premiered the first track from the album, 'Ekki Mukk'.

The band have also revealed the tracklisting for their new album, which is due for release in May 2012.

'Ekki Mukk' is familiar feeling Sigur Ros fare, with elements of frontman Jonsi's Riceboy Sleeps project with partner Alex Sommers heard in its downtempo, ethereal sounds. The strings and sense of epic are all traditional Sigur Ros sounds however.

Listen to 'Ekki Mukk' below.


Sigur Ros are due to perform at Bestival in Summer 2012. For more information visit Gigwise's Festival Guide.

For ticket details, visit Gigwise Gig Tickets.

The full tracklisting of 'Valtari' is as follows:

1. Ég anda.
2. Ekki múkk.
3. Varúð.
4. Rembihnútur.
5. Dauðalogn.
6. Varðeldur.
7. Valtari.
8. Fjögur píanó.