In London last night...
David Renshaw
11:31 3rd November 2009

The Rolling Stones Ronnie Wood has been awarded the lifetime achievement award at this years Classic Rock Awards.

The star studded event took place last night (Nov 2) at London's Park Lane hotel and saw Iggy Pop picking up awards alongside Wood, John Bonham and Cream's Ginger Baker.

Wood was awarded for his contribution to The Rolling Stones as well as The Jeff Beck Group and The Faces.

John Bonham was posthumously awarded the Tommy Vance Inspiration Award with his wife and daughter collecting the award.

Wood was handed his accolade by The Who's Pete Townshend. Guitarists Slash and Brian May also attended the awards.

Elsewhere, Iron Maiden were declared Band Of The Year with AC/DC picking up Album of the Year for 'Black Ice'.

The Spirit of Prog Award was handed to Dream Theater, with Mike Portnoy paying tribute to Radiohead and The Mars Volta in his speech.

The Classic Rock Awards 2009:

  • Slash

  • Iggy Pop

  • Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top

  • Mike Portnoy of Dream Theater

  • Ronnie Wood and Ekaterina Ivanova

  • Joe Perry and wife

  • Scott Ian and Pearl Aday

  • Brian May

  • Joey Tempest

  • Spike, Dale 'Buffin' Griffin and Mick Ralphs

  • Tony Iommi

  • Biff Byford

  • Paul Rodgers

  • Pete Townshend

  • Anvil

  • Chrissie Hynde

  • Iggy Pop

  • Sandi Thom

  • Slash

  • Jeff Beck

More about: