The band formerly known as British Sea Power are back
Vicky Greer
17:47 9th August 2021

British Sea Power have announced that they've dropped the 'British' from their name and that they're back with their first new music in five years. The new album, Everything Was Forever, is set for release 11 February next year, their first record performing as Sea Power. 

With the announcement of course comes a new single to celebrate a new era for Sea Power. 'Two Fingers', a raucous anthem for troubled times which is simultaneously celebratory and angry. The intro comes in guns blazing with punky guitars before settling into something more anthemic.

Frontman Yan explained his inspiration behind 'Two Fingers':

“The song is part inspired by our late dad, he was always giving a two-fingered salute to people on the telly – a kind of old-fashioned drinking term, toasting people or events: ‘I’ll drink two fingers to that’, to some news item or to memories of a childhood friend. In the song it’s a toast to everyone, remembering those in our lives and those sadly no longer here and to making the world a better place. The song is 'F*** me, f*** you, f*** everything.' But it’s also 'Love me, love you, love everything' – exultation in the darkness. If you say ‘f*** you’ in the right way, it really can be cathartic, a new start.”

The name change comes from a desire from the band to not tie themselves to a single flag and reflects the band's international outlook.

Everything Was Forever Tracklist:

  1. Scaring At The Sky
  2. Transmitter
  3. Two Fingers
  4. Fire Escape In The Sea
  5. Doppelgänger
  6. Fear Eats The Soul
  7. Folly 
  8. Green Goddess
  9. Lakeland Echo
  10. We Only Want To Make You Happy


Photo: Hollywood