Announce new album Dark Matters
Jessie Atkinson
12:09 5th May 2021

More about:

The Stranglers are announcing a new album titled Dark Matters today with a moving single that pays tribute to their late keyboard player Dave Greenfield, who died of Covid a year ago this week.

'And If You Should See Dave' is a melancholy, yet lighthearted and surprisingly catchy single that pays tribute to one of rock'n'roll's most legendary keys players.

Original Stranglers basist JJ Burnel said: “A year ago, on May 3rd my great friend and colleague of 45 years, Dave Greenfield, passed away, another victim of the pandemic. We had already recorded most of the album with him and during the lockdowns our only wish was to complete it as a fitting tribute to his life and work. I consider this to be one of our finest recordings.”

Dark Matters Tracklist:

  1. Water
  2. This Song
  3. And If You Should See Dave…
  4. If Something’s Gonna Kill Me (It Might As Well Be Love)
  5. No Man’s Land
  6. The Lines
  7. Payday
  8. Down
  9. The Last Men On The Moon
  10. White Stallion
  11. Breathe

See them live:


25 - Lincoln, Engine Shed
27 - Aberdeen, Music Hall
28 - Glasgow, O2 Academy
29 - Glasgow, O2 Academy SOLD OUT
31 - Stoke, Victoria Hall


01 - Norwich, UEA Nick Rayns
03 - Guildford, G Live SOLD OUT
04 - Brixton, O2 Academy
05 - Brixon, O2 Academy SOLD OUT
07 - Warrington, Parr Hall
08 - Nottingham, Rock City
10 - Cardiff, Uni Great Hall
11 - Manchester, O2 Academy
12 - Leeds, O2 Academy
14 - Portsmouth, Guildhall
15 - Southen, Cliffs Pavillion
17 - Brighton, Dome
18 - Newcastle, O2 City Hall
19 - Birmingham, O2 Academy
21 - Bristol, O2 Academy SOLD OUT
22 - Reading, Hexagon
24 - Sheffield, City Hall
25 - Leicester, De Montfort Hall
26 - Cambridge, Corn Exchange SOLD OUT 

Dark Matters arrives 10 September via Coursegood/Absolute.

More about:

Photo: David Boni