Mountain-inspired Seeking New Gods will arrive 25 May
Vicky Greer
13:11 15th March 2021

More about:

Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys has announced that his seventh solo album, Seeking New Gods, will be released 25 May via Rough Trade Records. The lead single, ‘Loan Your Loneliness’ has just been released today, alongside a trippy music video.

The album concept started off as a biography of a mountain, he explains, but quickly became something more:

“People come and go but the geology sticks around and changes more slowly. I think it’s about memory and time. It’s still a biography of a mountain, but now it’s a Mount Paektu of the mind. You won’t learn much about the real mountain from listening to this record but you will feel something, hopefully.”

The lead single is a bright and refreshing, driven by guitar licks and a bouncing rhythm, and the album artwork is really stunning.

Seeking New Gods Tracklist:

1. Mausoleum Of My Former Self
2. Can't Carry On
3. Loan Your Loneliness
4. Seeking New Gods
5. Hiking in Lightning
6. Holiest of The Holy Men
7. The Keep
8. Everlasting Joy
9. Distant Snowy Peaks

Seeking New Gods arrives 25 May via Rough Trade Records.

More about:

Photo: Mark James