A single titled 'America' arrives on Friday
Jessie Atkinson
15:15 30th June 2020

More about:

Soft boi supreme Sufjan Stevens has announced his eight solo studio album. The Ascension is a long-awaited follow-up to 2015's Carrie & Lowell. A lead single titled 'America' will arrive on Friday. At over twelve minutes long, it's set to be an intriguing release...

The Ascension is to be released in September via Asthmatic Kitty Records. It's a long album, with fifteen tracks and a nearly eighty-minute run-time. 

In recent years, the singer-songwriter has collaborated with several others, including for a cover of Leonard Cohen track 'Memories' with The National and on this year's Aporia - a collaboration between Stevens and his stepfather Lowell Brams.

Lowell is also the subject of Stevens' most recent solo effort alongside his mother Carrie, Stevens

The Ascension Track List:

1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
2. Run Away With Me
3. Video Game
4. Lamentations
5. Tell Me You Love Me
6. Die Happy
7. Ativan
8. Ursa Major
9. Landslide
10. Gilgamesh
11. Death Star
12. Goodbye To All That
13. Sugar
14. The Ascension
15. America

The Ascension arrives 25 September via Asthmatic Kitty Records. Pre-order here

More about:

Photo: Press