Tony Allen will receive a posthumous award for Outstanding Contribution to Music
Jessie Atkinson
10:34 17th June 2020

More about:

The AIM Awards have released their nominations list and announced that this year's ceremony will be entirely virtual. Drill artist Digga D and jazz drummer Moses Boyd receive three nominations each with a wave of exceptional talent filling up the remaining slots. Tony Allen will receive a posthumous award for Outstanding Contribution to Music.

Joining Moses Boyd and Digga D as nominees for the UK Independent Breakthrough are electronic artist Georgia, jazz collective KOKOROKO and Irish post-punks Fontaines D.C.

Sorry's 'Right Round The Clock' is one of ten nominees for Best Independent Track, alongside Squid's 'Sludge' and 'Gospel For a New Century' by Yves Tumor. On the Best Independent Album nominee list are Laura Marling's Song For Our Daughter and Infancy from The Ninth Wave.

Last year saw Johnny Marr take home the Pioneer Award and Debbie Harry receive the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award. 

In 2020, percussionist legend Tony Allen will posthumously receive the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award - the co-creator of Afrobeat passed away this May.

See a full list of the nominee below. The ceremony will take place virtually on 12 August. Arlo Parks is the first confirmed performer.

UK Independent Breakthrough

Digga D
Fontaines D.C.
Moses Boyd

International Breakthrough

Floating Points
Hania Rani

Best Independent Track in Association with Facebook

AJ Tracey - 'Dinner Guest (feat. Mostack)'
Digga D - 'No Diet'
Flying Lotus - 'More (feat. Anderson .Paak)'
King Krule - 'Alone, Omen 3'
Lauv - 'Modern Loneliness'
Sorry - 'Right Round The Clock'
Squid - 'Sludge'
Sudan Archives - 'Confessions'
Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela - 'We've Landed'
Yves Tumor - 'Gospel For A New Century'

Best Independent Album in Association with Spotify

Brooke Bentham - Everyday Nothing
Everything Is Recorded - Friday Forever
Kidjo Ojua - The Mixtape
Kim Gordon - No Home Record
Laura Marling - Song For Our Daughter
Moses Boyd - Dark Matter
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Ghosteen
The Ninth Wave - Infancy
Phoenix Da Icefire & Husky Brown - Panacea
Sarathy Korwar - More Arriving

Best (Difficult) Second Album

Floating Points - Crush
FKA twigs - Magdalene
Joe Armon Jones - Turn To Clear View
Life - A Picture of Good Health
Moses Sumney - GRÆ

Best Independent Remix

Lafawndah - Tourish X Nídia Rework
King of the Rollers - You Got Me (S.P.Y. Remix)
Makaya McCraven - Gil Scott-Heron - We're New Again
Apparat - Outliet (Solomon Remix)
Marie Davidson - Work It (Soulwax Remix)

One to Watch in Association with BBC Music Introducing

Arlo Parks
Blanco White
Greentea Peng
Lavida Loca

Best Creative Packaging in Association with Signature Brew

Digga D - Double Tap Diaries
Hania Rani - 'Esja' Sheet Music Book
Motörhead - 1979
Sophie - Oil of Every Pearl's Un-Insides non-stop Remix Album
Moses Boyd - Dark Matter LP (Dinked Edition)

Best Independent Video 

Black Pumas - 'Colors'
Bombay Bicycle Club - 'Eat, Sleep, Wake (Nothing But You)'
Flying Lotus - Black Balloons Reprise (feat. Denzel Curry)'
Greentea Peng - 'Mr. Sun (Miss Da Sun)'
The Howl & The Hum - 'The Only Boy Racer Left On The Island'
Zebra Katz - 'Moor'

Outstanding Contribution to Music in Association with Merlin

Tony Allen

Issue Four of the Gigwise Print magazine is on pre-order now! Order here.

More about:

Photo: Brett Rubin Bernard Benant