POWER will be the band’s first release with Virgin EMI
Jessie Atkinson
12:00 17th October 2019

More about:

Bovver boots on and hair whipping at the ready for Twin Atlantic, who are back today with their new single ‘Novocaine.’ The new electronica-rock song announces the Scottish band’s fourth album POWER, which will be released 25 January with Virgin EMI.

Still honestly, excitingly rock, ‘Novocaine’ is shot through with a gossamer thread of electronica that shakes the three-and-a-half-minute tune with some manmade, synthy, Depeche Mode-inspired fun.

Hear the single here:

About ‘Novocaine’, Twin Atlantic vocalist Sam McTrusty commented: “The song tells the story of the most intimate connection I’ve ever felt with someone else - when I met my first wife. That feeling of obsession taking over every thought and reason was almost like an addiction at the time.”

True to theme, the new release agonises over the seriousness of total infatuation and then dances on the chorus in a shower of synths and flying vocals that have been mixed to bounce and shatter like sparks. 

POWER will cut back on fat with seven additional songs, plus two interludes. 

The track listing for POWER is as follows:

  1. Oh! Euphoria!
  2. Barcelona
  3. Novocaine
  4. Mount Bungo (Interlude)
  5. I Feel It Too
  6. Ultraviolet Truth
  7. Asynchronous (Interlude)
  8. Volcano
  9. Messiah
  10. Praise Me

Twin Atlantic will tour the UK in March of next year:

03 - Motherwell, Concert Hall
04 - Aberdeen, Music Hall
06 - Dundee, Fat Sams
07 - Kilmarnock, Grand Hall
09 - Newcastle, Riverside
10 - Manchester, Academy 2
11 - Sheffield, The Leadmill
13 - Cardiff, The Tramshed
14 - Oxford, O2 Academy Oxford
15 - Leicester, O2 Academy Leicester
17 - Bournemouth, The Old Firestation
18 - Brighton, Concorde 2
20 - London, Electric Ballroom 

More about:

Photo: Katy Cummings