New single is the most dramatic, grandiose track Olsen's released yet
Cai Trefor
09:40 31st July 2019

More about:

Angel Olsen will her fourth studio album All Mirrors via Jagjaguwar on 4 October.

The record, which follows the highly acclaimed 2016 album My Woman, features Olsen in black and white on the cover, perhaps her chance to manifest the darkness laden into the record visually.

Speaking of the record's theme, Olsen says: "In every way--from the making of it, to the words, to how I feel moving forward, this record is about owning up to your darkest side, finding the capacity for new love and trusting change even when you feel like a stranger."

Sonically, it's a massive feat. Olsen first started All Mirrors as a stripped back solo record and planned to release it alongside a companion album with a heavy amount of sonic riches.

But she changed tact, realising that the fleshed out songs had taken on a life of their own and she had to separate the records. "The truth is that I may have never allowed this much sonic change in the first place had I not already made an account of the same songs in their purest form." The stripped back one remains in the vaults for now.

The sonic change she speaks about comes courtesy of working with producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Bill Callahan, David Byrne), arranger Jherek Bischoff, multi-instrumentalist/ arranger/pre-producer Ben Babbitt, and a 14-piece orchestra.

The lead track starts with a bleak analog electronic feel to the intro, fitting with Olsen's undeniably evocative vocal. The vocals die out for the middle part and allow the heavy synth to take the lead melody, this gives way to the most impactful, loud use of the 14-piece orchestra. It sounds like harrowing instrumental film music at times. Olsen, though, knows exactly when to come back in and the intensity with which she arrives back into the track is breathtaking. 

Accompanying the stunning track is a video directed Ashley Connor and conceived by Olsen.

All Mirrors Tracklist:
01. Lark
02. All Mirrors
03. Too Easy
04. New Love Cassette
05. Spring
06. What It Is
07. Impasse
08. Tonight
09. Summer
10. Endgame
11. Chance

Angel Olsen 2020 UK tour

10 - Bristol - SWX
11 - London - Eventim Apollo
13 - Manchester - O2 Ritz
14 - Glasgow - Barrowland Ballroom

More about:

Photo: Cameron McCool