Their song 'Don't Place Your Happiness In The Hands Of Another' is accompanied by an immersive visual exploring subconscious states
Cai Trefor
17:05 29th January 2019

Psych revolutionaries The Telescopes are gearing up for the release of swirling melodic new album Exploding Head Syndrome with a video for the track 'Don't Place Your Happiness In The Hands Of Another'. You can watch it first on Gigwise below.

Often, the best music can come from a tightly-executed uncompromising vision not worried about pleasing bandmates. And this completely awe-inspiring track - similar to the bulk of the new album - was written by founder and sole constant member Stephen Lawrie in complete solitude in West Yorkshire.

The accompanying video shows a man sleeping restlessly as myriad projections are beamed on to the subject, giving some colour to an otherwise monochrome aesthetic. The imagery helps connect the listener to the track's ties to the album's theme: the title Exploding Head Syndrome is named after a sleep disorder a person experiences unreal noises. The official album bio shares the following description:

“Exploding Head Syndrome is a snapping into consciousness, a synaptic charge of analogue dissonance saturated through a complex undercurrent of pulsing minimalism, profound in its simplicity.”

For the uninitiated, The Telescopes are part of Tapete Records' glowing roster - Bureau B's pop arm. The label's based in Hamburg and you can read a Gigwise interview with the founder here. Founder Gunther Buskies has a knack of signing some of the most influential artists with avant garde leanings. Fittingly, The Telescopes - conceived in 1987 - emerged as innovators in the field of melodic noise, and have continued to push boundaries on the underground.

This new album coming out is said to have more tracks based in traditional songwriting techniques than the other two on Tapete Records. The band's previous labels include Alan McGee's Creation Records.

Exploding Head Syndrome is out on 1 Feburary. Pre-order here

1. All The Way Around (Tout Est Dans Le Moment) 
2. Everything Turns Into You 
3. You Were Never Here 
4. Until The End 
5. Don't Place Your Happiness In The Hands Of Another 
6. I Know You've Got Something Inside (Driving You Crazy) 
7. Nothing Was Held 
8. Why Are We Doing This To Each Other? 

Photo: Lily Kowski